Splashtop: Installation success anyone?

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by catsongs, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. catsongs
    Offline

    catsongs iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portola Valley CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Can't for the life of me get Splashtop iPad / Mac server working.

    Splashtop forums useless and out of date. Attempts to e-mail Splashdot > You don't have access to this server messages.

    Anyone had success getting this to work and/or know of decent install instructions?

    Thanks!
  2. wytey
    Offline

    wytey iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Have you setup the port so that they are the same on both the pc and ipad and also setup the router to route traffic from that port to the pc?

    I bleed in 6 colours
  3. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,185
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,143 / 1
    Shouldn't be necessary.

    Install the app on the iPad.

    Install Splashtop Remote on the Mac, and start it if necessary. (make note of the IP addresse(s) it says it's appearing on, just in case)

    Make sure both the Mac and iPad are on the same network. Start the app on the iPad. The iPad should see the computer. If not tap the + button at the top left and add the computer using the IP address noted earlier.
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Agree with the poet - I have it working on a PC and have never had the slightest problem.

    Install the PC app, install the iPad app, start the iPad app, it searches for my PC and finds it.

    If you want remote access - i.e. from outside your local home network, then you need to (a) have the very latest update to the iPad app *and* the PC app (this only works on the PC at the moment :D ) and give both the iPad and the PC your gmail address (don't ask me why!) and that's it - no port forwarding, no IP address messing around, no reconfiguration of firewalls or anti-virus software - nothing, it just works!!

    Tim
  5. noradris
    Offline

    noradris iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Splashtop only works on your local network

    I wasted $2 on this program. After digging thru the help forum at Splash top the tech people finally admitted that you cannot access your mac via the G3 network or other people's Wi-Fi (only your own local network which your mac is using). There was some ridiculous beta work-around requiring access thru Gmail but this was a waste.
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I have had no problem whatsoever accessing my PC using other people's WiFi or over the 3G network. The 'experimental feature' works just fine but you absolutely need the latest version of the PC app and - as they quite clearly state in the App Store - this is not yet available for the Mac, only the PC. If you want a refund, it's not a problem, just call the Apple Support line with your transaction reference number and they'll refund the cost of your purchase as a credit to your iTunes account.

    Tim
  7. blucente
    Offline

    blucente iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Works fine for me, windows PC and laptop
  8. antonio107
    Offline

    antonio107 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    While I couldn't be bothered to hook Splashtop up to a Mac, can't you use it remotely with simple port forwarding on a router or what have you? Sure, I use gmail because I have a dynamic IP, but that *is* an option!
Similar Threads
  1. beatlejohn
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    4,293
  2. hafa
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,290
  3. accordlayingkit
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    5,631
  4. Boblins
    Replies:
    22
    Views:
    4,476
  5. canuck51
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,280
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cannot install splashtop on ipad

,

getting server url for splashtop

,

splashtop 2 installation issues

,

what is the server url for splashtop