1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

SplashTop help please!

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by SweetPoison, Jul 3, 2011.

  1. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    So our AC went out and we are at a hotel ~ dogs and all! I hate Sacramento so much.


    I have my iPad and was thinkin I could access my desktop thru splashTop.

    That'd be a Hell No. It just says "can't access your computer"

    How come? I really have so much work tom do that is on my flash drive in my computer.
  2. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Did you enter your Gmail address and password on both the iPad and the desktop? Or, did you try the port forwarding approach? You need to have done one or the other...

    I think tomorrow is going to be the hottest day. After that it should cool off a bit. Sorry to hear that you are having problems.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  3. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    I didn't enter my gmail address on either. It didn't ask me to. But splash top is always running on my desk top.

    Do I even wanna know what the "port forwarding approach" is? I don't think I could wrap my brain around that one at this time.

    When I am at home in another room and want to access my desktop, I don't remember entering my email and password.

    Did I?:eek:

    So I am sitting in this hotel room, which is very nice and hella cold, smells like weed, though....

    And I can't access my desktop? Man.:(

    You are in the Bay Area ~ it will be cooler for you. Not up here in Sac. I hate it. I actually cried today. Who cries over weather?
  4. Rog
    Offline

    Rog iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If there was someone that could log into your PC locally and start up gmail you might be able to access it?
  5. OUTL4W
    Offline

    OUTL4W iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,231
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, Pa
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    You use the gmail approach when outside your home wifi....when within home wifi...no need to use the "Internet discovery" option.
  6. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Rog ~ are you asking me if there is someone at my home to access my desktop?

    We are all here, babe. It is by now 150 degrees in my little house.:(

    I don't understand why it won't connect. I am five min from home and on wifi. And ST is running on my desktop.


    I'm not getting this, am I?
  7. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0

    Hmm...
  8. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    You don't need to do anything while on your own home network. However, for remote access via the Internet you will have to enter your Gmail address into the Splashtop software on both devices which is a snap to do. No, you don't want to do the port forwarding and it's no longer necessary. The only bad news is that if you want the connection tonight, you have to go home and get that part of it done.

    It's relatively cool here now, but was a lot warmer earlier, a few miles east is probably similar to Sacramento.

    I hope you can work it out, although you might want to take take a small break. Have a great 4th SweetP! :)
  9. Rog
    Offline

    Rog iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If your not worried about the home PC overheating. I would consider sending someone home to setup the splashtop client to use the gmail login for locating it on the internet. You'd probably need to set the PC to not go to sleep though. Depends on how long your staying in the hotel and how long it would take to set everything up at home.
  10. OUTL4W
    Offline

    OUTL4W iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,231
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, Pa
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Hopefully not... if it's in a confined space...could either auto-shutdown or get so hot that it melts the solder and pop the chips off the motherboard.


    The Internet discovery/gmail approach works like a charm when outside home wifi network.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  11. antonio107
    Offline

    antonio107 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Failing the GMail approach, you need to find your home internet's real IP address. If whatever you find starts with 192...that ain't it!

    There's no real good way to do that remotely, sadly. You really need to be at home to rig that up. Or at the very least, someone at home, like the other posters said.

    OR...would you by any freak chance have you IP address remembered/written into your notes? I use the notes app for that. :D
  12. Rog
    Offline

    Rog iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ya, I setup a free dyndns account when I was playing with splashtop.

    I went back to using VNC for iPad.

    I don't like the way on splashtop the cursor is under your finger. VNC puts the cursor to the side so it is not hidden beneath my finger and it allows for more accurate placement of the cursor.
  13. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    You see, things aren't all that bad after all!
    :D
  14. antonio107
    Offline

    antonio107 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I go back and forth between a free VNC app and Splashtop. I find the refresh rate is better on Splashtop, and it has sound. But sometimes VNC works better.
  15. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Ok. I went to the Internet discovery page in ST and entered my email and password. Signed in and it said " this computer was found "

    But it won't connect.

    I think I'm doomed for the night ~

    and I just know the bed bugs are gonna get me.:(


    If I never come back....
  16. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Just in case... PocketCloud Pro is 40% off for the holiday weekend. According to AppShopper it's the lowest it's ever been. I like the very precise mouse controls on this app.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  17. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Well, you have to enter it on the other side too and I think you would have remembered if you had. The message is probably not accurate.
  18. Rog
    Offline

    Rog iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Info,

    Just tried the free version of pocketcloud over 3G. Nice implementation of the mouse interface.
  19. antonio107
    Offline

    antonio107 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Looks interesting, but not worth 9 bucks to me, not by a longshot. Sorry! :)
  20. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Absolutely. There is a lot of attention to detail in other areas of that program as well (which I didn't quite get at first). But, Splashtop is what I'm using the most right now.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
default splashtop security code
,
security code splashtap
,
splash top default security code
,
splashtop access code
,
splashtop asking for security code
,
splashtop default security code
,
splashtop password reset incorrect security code
,
splashtop redeem code
,
splashtop remote desktop wrong pass
,

splashtop security code

,
splashtop wrong security code