Something About Bell and the IPad

Discussion in 'iPad Carriers' started by Biggysmallz, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. Biggysmallz

    Biggysmallz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Had a horrendous experience recently.
    Bought a 250 mb data package from Bell just to test out how the IPad consumes data.
    It happened that the 250 mb lasted for ten days.
    Just before that package was finished, I decided to buy the 5 gb package. To my horror, within five hours of use , I got a message that I had reached my limit. Is that even possible on on IPad?????????

    Called Bell and they tried to give me the run around at first then obfuscated.
    I have a question. Does anybody know how that could have happened?

    I asked Bell for a log of my usage and they listed some times when I am positive I wasn't even using the IPad. I somehow feel that the problem has to do with the assigned telephone number they game me because when I called first, customer service was not able to access my account through it. It was only after giving my name that they could get into my account. At one time I was even told that the number was with some company and then that account was stopped.

    Has anyone had that experience or can explain what happened?

    Needless to say, my association with Bell will never happen again.
     
  2. MikesTooLz

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Sure it can happen, I did over 30gb last month. Were you streaming or downloading anything like podcasts? Thats what I do, ill go into iTunes select a podcast thats like 350MB and have it download to my iPad.


    About them not finding your account right away is just normal. The first person to pick up the phone always keys in your phone number and try's to look you up under a current cellphone plan. They pull up the number and in the cellphone system it was last attached to what ever person/company had it before you and shows that that phone account has been cancled.

    You have to specificly tell them no, it is and IPAD data plan only and not a cellphone plan. The will then look it up correctly or tell you to hold and pass you to an iPad specialist.
     
  3. Biggysmallz

    Biggysmallz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    The part that I am very interested in getting an answer for is how Bell has all those log times on their log when the Ipad wasn't being used?

    BTW, during those less that four hours, I didn't watch any Podcast and when I called I did tell them very clearly that it was an Ipad account so there could be no confusion there.

    Interestingly, with my new account from Rogers, I watched a wc match in total two hours and used 500 mb.

    It is obvious to me that there is something fishy about Bell.
     
  4. Seadog

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    It is not anything fishy about Bell from what I can see, but human error somewhere. I would suspect that some confusion happened during the switchover to the larger plan, and it would be up to someone more familiar to the issues than the standard frontline people.
     
  5. Biggysmallz

    Biggysmallz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    They weren't prepared to even explore that possibility though.
     
  6. Biggysmallz

    Biggysmallz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Btw Rogers appears to be working out better than Bell here. Two week and usage is 100 mb without the wc streaming and 2.7 gqb with it. I give the breakdown because officially 100 mb is what is used on the account because the wc streaming is free.
     
  7. Fastskis

    Fastskis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Bell 5 gig

    I have had the Bell 5gig plan for 10 days now. It is a pain to have to call up to activate. I have all three carriers sims. I like Bell, as the coverage is good, my cell phone too. 5gig is pretty well unlimited for me. Just wish they would not put a time cap on it.

    Telus is good too, $20.00 for 500mb. That is fine for emailing and surfing for month. Rogers, stay away from. Overloaded broadband and sketchy coverage.

    I live in Whistler/Pemberton I can take iPad hiking and get great 3G. in town I send off contract proposals using "Pages". I am looking forward to using it in Europe on next trip. Great deals on data packages there!

    In conclusion, very impressed with conductivity of iPad. However, I hope that the carriers listen to users and make more sense of their package offerings.

    I would pay $50.00 for 5gigs if it lasted until used up!

    Regards,

    Cole
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
google searchwww.tellthebell.com
,
searchwww.tellthebell.com
,
tellthebell.com
,
www.tellthbell.com
,

www.tellthebell.com

,
wwwtellthebell.com