Sim Card not supported

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by u07jrb, May 5, 2011.

  1. u07jrb

    u07jrb
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I recently bought an ipad in the UK from ebay (seller said it was a uk version)and a 3g card from apple for three pay as you go. When installing the sim and connecting to itunes it says sim card not supported.

    Anyone else had the same problem. I get pup ups in itunes about unable to update carrier settings but not sure if its just because it doesnt recognise the sim card. I have tried a factory reset with no luck.

    I have concluded either the sim card is broken (I doubt it) or the ipad is a foreign version. Even if it is it should still work as I belive there are no carrier locked iphones apart from the CDMA versions.

    Tried seaching the forums and web but found nothing. ITs like i am the only one with this problem.

    Anyone help?
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    When you install the SIM card, do you see the 3G icon and signal strength bars on the top left-hand side of the iPad screen? On the 'Settings' page of the iPad what options do you have under the 'Carrier' tab?

    Tim
     
  3. u07jrb

    u07jrb
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have played about with it ti try and get it to work and have seen a veriaty of things. At the moment it has 1 bar signal strenght but does not say 3g. I think I have seen it say invalid sim once.

    When I click on carrier it says unable to load network list. The menu then says Automatic.
     
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    For sure, it's not a CDMA Verizon phone as they don't have SIM cards. I have several '3' PAYG SIM cards and I've never experienced this trouble. It normally goes straight through to the '3' website, even if you had no credit left, to allow you to top up. One thing you could try is to take out the SIM card and try cleaning the contacts by rubbing lightly on a dry cloth. But the fact that you have signal bars and the iPad doesn't say 'No SIM' suggests that the iPad is connecting with the SIM without a problem. Do you have another device that takes a microSIM that you could try just to be certain it's not a SIM problem. It would have to be something like an iPhone4 - other phones don't take the iPad microSIM.

    Tim
     
  5. u07jrb

    u07jrb
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't have any other sims but I will go to the apple store tommorrow to sort it out. I seen a couple of posts where people have said that if it is a USA ipad 2 (which it might be, I am not 100% sure) then it needs to be initialised in the USA or with a AT&T sim. I can't see why I would have to do this but I am clutching at straws here until I can get to apple tommorrow.
     
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Yes - that's true - if it's a US AT&T iPad then most people have found it needs to be initialised in the US with an AT&T SIM card - thereafter it can be used anywhere. Was it new when you bought it? Did it come in a sealed box with a UK power outlet adaptor or did it come with a US-style adaptor?

    Tim
     
  7. u07jrb

    u07jrb
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Good point. The box wasn't physically sealed but everthing was covered in the plastic wrapping inside the case to show that it hadn't been used. It came with the UK adaptor.

    I just noticed that I get an invalid sim in the top corner if i switch off the mobile data then switch it back on.
     
  8. wytey

    wytey
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    at a guess, I assume the iPad is like mobile phones on contract, I.e. locked to a specific carrier, or at least that is what it sounds like to be

    before buying a replacement, try it out first just incase the above is true
     
  9. u07jrb

    u07jrb
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My understanding is that Ipad 2's are not locked to carriers. I'll try a new sim tommorrow.
     
  10. u07jrb

    u07jrb
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well. I went to apple today and found out that the ipad i bought was locked to vodaphone!!! I didn't know any ipad 2's were locked. Must be a contract thing.
    Does anyone know how to un-carrierlock it?
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
carrier on my ipad isnt reading sim card
,
invalid sim ipad
,

ipad invalid sim

,
ipad invalid sim card
,

ipad not reading sim card

,
ipad sim not reading
,
ipad sim not valid
,
ipad unable to load network list
,
sim not supported ipad
,
unable to load network list ipad