What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Signal Strenth

bevcoke

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to ipad and am wondering how I can measure what strength of signal I am receiving from my BT Home hub as it seems to drop out in certain rooms and am wondering whether changing my hub for a newer model would improve the signal

Thanks

NSquirrel

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Probably the simplest method is to look at the signal strength indicator at the top left of your screen as you move around your house, even though it is only three '(' between min and max.

Which homehub have you got? I have a hh4 which seems to give reasonable strength over a 3 bedroom semi, but then I took care in positioning it.

OP
B

bevcoke

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi, Thanks for the reply, I'm using a BT Home Hub 1.5, which is a very early model, so probably upgrading that would help me?

NSquirrel

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Another thought; If you have an old router, you may be able to turn it into a 2nd wifi source elsewhere in the house.

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to ipad and am wondering how I can measure what strength of signal I am receiving from my BT Home hub as it seems to drop out in certain rooms and am wondering whether changing my hub for a newer model would improve the signal

Hello and welcome to the forum! :) Unfortunately, iOS and its iDevices do not offer the best options for monitoring one's home network - I do much better on OS X w/ my MBPro.