Setting Up New iPad

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by 5er driver, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. 5er driver

    5er driver
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I would like my new iPad to have all the settings, mail accounts, apps, etc. that I currently have on my iPhone 4s. I want the iPad to be set up exactly like the iPhone. When first initializing/activating the iPad on iTunes, do I just do a "Restore" using the iPhone's back up data?
    Thanks.
     
  2. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,396
    Thanks Received:
    977
    That is unlikely to work. I think iTunes will only give you the option of restoring from a backup for the correct model. I have several backups for iPad and iPhone and when I restored my son's iPod this evening, the only option given was to restore from an iPod backup, the other's did not show up as available.
     
  3. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    445
    Yes, restore as the iPhone, then rename your iPad so that it will have its own profile for backups and such. You should get all the content, including the iPhone-size apps, but you can delete what you don't want later. You'll have to re-enter passwords, generally, but all else should be the same.
     
  4. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    445
    Strange. I wonder why we've had different experiences. When I got my first iPad, I restored from my iPhone profile and it worked. And I later restored a new iPhone and touch from my iPad profile (the restore would note when some apps didn't work, because they were for iPad).

    Anyway, OP, worth trying. If it doesn't work, you've not lost anything.
     
  5. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,396
    Thanks Received:
    977
    True enough, go for it. If it works it'll save some grief. I just realized that my iPad and iPhone backups are in the cloud, and the iPod one is on the computer. That may have had something to do with it.
     
  6. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    747
    I'm definitely with Kay on this one, I set my first iPad up from my iPhone back up, then my second iPad from my first iPad's back up. It's always been painless.

    The Archangel
     
  7. 5er driver

    5er driver
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks everyone, I figured it should work. And also figured I would delete the apps that were for iPhone only. Now, I just cannot wait for my iPad to arrive. Maybe I should just slip into a coma and wake the morning of 16 March. :)
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
how can i set my iphone up exactly like my ipad
,
i want to make my ipad think it is new for setup
,

set up ipad just like iphone

,

setup ipad exactly like iphone

,
want iphone set same as ipad