What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sell ePub in apps section?

cumaso

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Could I sell an ePub document in the apps section of iTunes?

I know I could sell it in iBooks, but I think this particular project might sell better in the app store.

I am completely new to ePub, I am just trying to wrap my brain around how it works. I noticed there is a "Books" section in the app store, is it possible any of these are eEubs?

Or do you always need to open an .epub file inside some kind of a reader?

thewitt

iPF Novice
Reaction score
You would have to wrap your ePub document in a reader app. There are some of those now. See the books category in the store.

-t

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
There are also several sites on the web promising to wrap your content into an app. I can't remember any of the names off the top of my head. Some are for professional magazine publishing, others appear to be for books.

For myself there are only two kinds of books I'd buy from the App Store. Interactive books (like children's books) and references. Reference books (and they better have good organization and/or search functions) would sell better in the References section.

Apps take up too much space (storage and screen) for me to consider them as a book solution.

PR

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am curious other than the type of books twerppoet mentioned why you would want to wrap a book in an app. It doesn't sound like you want to add any functionality so why add the overhead of app development.

thewitt

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Visibility. More people browse the App store than browse the iBook store.

-t

Jeeper

iPF Noob
Reaction score