Selecting text

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by jimwilkins, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. jimwilkins
    Offline

    jimwilkins iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have some problems with text selection. Sometimes I can't select at all no matter how long I press down, other times it selects text for me. What am I not doing?

    Thanks
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,481
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,867 / 0
    It all rather depends on where you are trying to select text to copy. For example, in the Safari web browsing app, you will come across some web pages that will not let you copy anything from them. I don't know why - it's a coding thing built into the web site by the site owner. But, it's not you or the iPad in this case, it's the web site.

    So, what app are you using that is not letting you copy text? Then, we can see if it occurs on our devices (if we have the same app).

    Marilyn
  3. jimwilkins
    Offline

    jimwilkins iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Notably safari. I would rather have a problem I can control. :)
  4. jimwilkins
    Offline

    jimwilkins iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oops, didn't' answer question. Some recipe sites.
  5. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,481
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,867 / 0
    Again, if it's Safari, it's the web site - not the iPad. Maybe you can zoom in on what you want to copy and take a screenshot of it? But, if the web site owner doesn't want you to copy - then you can't. Sorry.

    Marilyn
  6. jimwilkins
    Offline

    jimwilkins iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Fortunately, I can accomplish what I need to do on my macpro. I sure didn't understand that website coding could make a difference. I think that's what happens on the homegrown sites.

    Thanks for the info.

    Jim
  7. jimwilkins
    Offline

    jimwilkins iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So how is it that I can copy/ paste with macpro?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can't select text on ipad

,
how to select text on ipad facebook
,

ipad can't select text