Screen on iPad 2 IOS 8.1.3 will not respond

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by squib, Feb 20, 2015.

  1. squib

    squib
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,123
    Thanks Received:
    904
    To any touch. I can force the shut down slider to show up, but it will NOT respond. I can make the start screen light up,but again it will not let me slide to open. Just before this happened I got a " LOW MEMORY ' notification.
    Can anyone help? o_O
    OH,my iPad and Acer, Win 8 are linked by Dropbox and authorized in iTunes.
    Does that help? anyway to get rid of my photo's or data from iPad without going in through the iPad screen?o_O
    :)THANKS! Diane.:)
     
  2. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    26,651
    Thanks Received:
    8,209
    You might try connecting to iTunes and backing up your iPad, if possible.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    • List
  3. squib

    squib
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,123
    Thanks Received:
    904
    I think my iPad is backed up on icloud. when I put the USB into the Acer while I was in iTunes it made my Acer lock up!???Thanks, Scifan :)
    . Anything else in those brainy brains?:cool:
     
  4. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,283
    Thanks Received:
    5,815
    Have you tried a reset? Hold down the Home and Power buttons until the Apple logo appears.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    • List
  5. squib

    squib
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,123
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Unfortunately, I tried without success. Adding insult to injury :p everytime I tried that it took another photo! I'm AMAZED! Really, there was a screen that had my lock scren photo on it superimposed over my lock screen picture with the slider, I could see the time changing on one and on the one behind I could see the time staying the same AND if I put it in portrait mode I could also see the IPF tabs on the Chrome tabs in the picture behind the picture!
    BET YOU CAN NOT IMAGINE HOW CONFUSED I AM NOW? I CAN'T GET THE CAPS OFF ON THIS WIN 8 ACER, GRRRRRRRR:D:p:D:D:p:p:p:po_Oo_Oo_Oo_O:):):):)
     
  6. The OB

    The OB
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,618
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    Hi Diane, nice to see you again:). Have another go at what twerppoet suggested. It does solve a lot of problems like these.
    Hold both the On/Off and Start buttons down at the same time BUT don't let go until the Apple logo appears. If you hold both buttons down but let them go straight away, you will merely take a screen shot.
    Andrew


    Sent from my iPad Air2 using Tapatalk
     
  7. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,393
    Thanks Received:
    9,291
    It doesn't matter where you back up. If your Acer locked up when you connected your iPad to it, that's not a problem with the backup, but supposedly with the Acer, or iTunes.

    Your iPad should be able to connect to iTunes, even with iCloud as backup method.

    If it doesn't, make sure computer and iTunes are up to date. Disable syncing automatically (in iTunes go to Edit - Preferences - Devices - "Prevent iPods, iPhones and iPads from syncing automatically." Click OK.) Connect your iPad once more and see if this helped.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    • List
  8. squib

    squib
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,123
    Thanks Received:
    904
    oh how i love your optimism., now the acer won't let me capitalize anything,? who knew that ultimate frustration can turn into hilarious absurdity. i tried over and over and i can hold down both the home button as well as the on/off switch forever. unfortunately now my camera is so slow it sounds like i'm taking a long stretched out sound of a camera opening and closing the aperature (sp?) in slow motion. i was way too intent that if i held on to it for long enough, both pushed at the same instance eventually the apple would show up. i guess i did it too many times. it will not turn on AND it will not turn off, it is just in limbo.
    thanks for checking in everyone. i appreciate it more than i can say. it's so good to hear from you all again, especially when i have a problem that seems insurmountable. thank you,love & hugs to you all. j. a. i haven't seen your post yet but i got a notification.
    oh, since you are all moderators can you tell me how to change my email notification address to gmail since shaw won't work anyway.
    :confused::cool::p:D:oops::rolleyes:o_O so, so, so wonderful to hear from you all.
     
  9. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,393
    Thanks Received:
    9,291
    I can tell you how to change your email address in Safari. If you use Tapatalk, I'll have to check there.

    Tap your username and then select "Contact Details":
    image.jpg
    On the next page, you'll see your current email address:
    image.jpg
    Tap within the field to change it. You'll have to enter your password as well.
     
    #9 J. A., Feb 21, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2015
  10. squib

    squib
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,123
    Thanks Received:
    904
    the ipad stopped working just after a notification came on the screen saying ipad was low on memory, that's when it stopped responding, i went straight to the acer because i thought i could dump my photo's onto itune's or ln dropbox. the screen on ipad had already stopped responding.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

content