What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

saving win 8.1 files to a ipad 2

daddywoofdawg

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have some how-to doc files I want to load on to my Ipad2 they are on my win machine;I don't have wi-fi where I will be using the Ipad,so I thought I could download/transfer a copy of those files to the Ipad and use the info there.how do I get the info over to the ipad from my win machine,and then where are the files kept/how do i access them on the apple?I'm a noob with apple.I have wi-fi at home and the Ipad works at home.

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Hello and welcome to the forum! :) First, what is the format of the files, e.g. *.doc, *.PDF, etc.? Depending on their format (or one that can be changed), you will need an app on the iPad to view the files - as an example, I usually view my PDF documents either in iBooks or GoodReader.

Second, your can transfer files easily over a Wi-Fi network, some choices: 1) Email files to yourself and then open on the iPad (depending on the above); 2) Obtain a Dropbox Account (put the app on both of your devices - place the files there on your Windows machine, and then open then in the iOS app on your device); and 3) use Apple's iCloud (plenty of Apple support articles on the topic). Dave

OP
D

daddywoofdawg

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have both *.doc, *.PDF.doesn't a dropbox have to use the net to access them? or will I be able to just download and save? again I will have no access to internet at the other location.

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score