Saving SHSH with TU- How long does it take?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Mattmilw, May 15, 2011.

  1. Mattmilw

    Mattmilw iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I am trying to save my SHSH. I'm at 4.3.3, and using the current version of TU. I'm new at this and and I'm concerned that TU has been "saving" now for 15 minutes.The log says it has started saving SHSHs, but there it sits.

    I started saving with "Request SHSH From Cydia" unchecked.

    Any advice?
     
  2. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Do you have slow Internet? TU usually takes for me, about 30 seconds to a minute to download. And I have DSL.
     
  3. Hackint0sh814

    Hackint0sh814 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have to agree it should take a minute or less depending on connection and server load.
     
  4. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I have "request shsh from Cydia" checked. Hmm....
     
  5. Mattmilw

    Mattmilw iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have a cable modem that is reasonably fast.

    It's been a half hour now. It looks like it's hung, but I'm not sure what closing the program (if I can) or pulling the usb cable will do.
     
  6. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    It won't hurt anything.
     
  7. Hackint0sh814

    Hackint0sh814 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I would just close TU and retry.
     
  8. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Pretty much.
    (1,000th post!!!!!!!!!)
    Let's have a party :D
     
  9. Mattmilw

    Mattmilw iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I tried again and it hung again.

    I then unchecked "Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit" in addition to the earlier unchecking of "Request SHSH from Cydia", and it saved in a matter of seconds.

    If I understand this, I now have the ability to revert back to version 4.3.3, using iTunes , should I have the need. Do I have this right?

    Thanks.
     
  10. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Yes!
     
  11. Mattmilw

    Mattmilw iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have a couple of questions going forward-

    When the next version is released, do i need to have upgraded my Ipad to that version before I can save the SHSHs for it?

    If/when I save SHSHs for a later version, will they overwrite the ones I saved today, or will they be saved in addition to them?

    I appreciate the help.
     
  12. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    When a new FW is released, you have to update to that FW to save the shsh. And TU saves it in addition to older ones.
     
  13. Frenchroll

    Frenchroll iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    not true!! You do NOT have to update to the latest fw to grab shsh for it!, you just need to be sure you have the latest version of TU, my IP4 and iPad 1 are both on 4.2.1 and I have 4.3.3 shsh for both of them! When you save latest TU & cydia will have most current as well as previous (if you've been saving the previous).
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2011
  14. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    It does? Cool! :)
     
  15. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    And this is why we have a SHSH Blob - FAQ sticky thread in this section!
    I suggest everyone reads it again, just to remind themselves of the facts!
    All the answers to these questions and more are in there :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how long does it take to save shsh blobs

,

how long does tiny umbrella take

,

how long does tinyumbrella take

,

how long does tinyumbrella take to save shsh

,
tinyumbrella takes forever