Safari

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by qflowers, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. qflowers

    qflowers iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    29223
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Safari is not responding.
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    No panic----time for a reboot..


    Turn the iPad off...

    Now press and hold Power and Home for six to nine seconds until the white Apple logo appears - have faith, it will..

    The iPad will reboot and you'll be fine..

    Tim
     
  3. Stegsy

    Stegsy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I am having the same problem and turned my iPad off as suggested by Tim, but there has been no change.
     
  4. The OB

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,489
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,680 / 1
    Hello Stegsy and welcome to the forum. Just to check that you followed the right sequence for a reset of your iPad as per Tim's suggestion (of nearly four years ago, but which still holds good today). Did you carry out the following steps?
    Simultaneously hold down the On/Off and Home buttons until the screen blacks out. Don't let either go but keep holding down both buttons until the Apple logo appears and then let both go. Then wait until your wallpaper appears. Restart your iPad.
    If you did do that...my apologies.
    Another, somewhat more drastic thing you can do is Reset All Settings. You'll find this under Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings. It won't erase any of your content, apps, or accounts; but you will have to go through most of your other settings and re-tweak them back to what they should be.
    Come back to let us know if you're still having that problem. There will be a solution I'm sure:)
    Regards, Andrew
     
  5. Stegsy

    Stegsy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Thanks for your suggestion OB, but I am still having the problem.
     
  6. The OB

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,489
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,680 / 1
    Sorry to hear that but you will need to help us to help you. All we have at present is that you have the same "problem" as someone of nearly four years ago whose Safari was "not responding"
    Please tell us what iPad model you have, its storage capacity and the operating system version. Also can you enlarge on the problem: what were you trying to do and what happened? Freezing, lagging, blackout?
    Here's a link which will give you further thought re Safari troubleshooting:
    http://appletoolbox.com/apple-help-...t-index/safari-working-troubleshoot-problems/
    Come back with further info, but first also try:
    ~~~~ Double press on the On button (the round one on the screen face) and swipe upwards and away the cards re previous work still hanging around in RAM.
    ~~~~ clear Safari history in Settings> Safari.
    We have a number of pretty cluey members (yes, some are pretty too:)) who can help and will be in a position to do that with some further details re the problem.
    Regards, Andrew

    Sent from my iPad Air2 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Stegsy

    Stegsy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I have an IPad Air purchased Dec.2014
    16 gb
    Version 8.3 (12F69)

    Thanks OB, I followed your suggestions...swiped away all cards and cleared Safari history in settings. I also went into apple toolbox...my auto fill and ad blocker were already off.

    I went back into Yahoo and did not have a problem opening all sites. Glitch appears to have been rectified; however I'll keep an eye on it.

    Just in case someone else has a similar problem, I was having trouble opening such sites as Canadian Press, CNBC, CBC, Buzzfeed. When I clicked on them the message "Safari cannot open the page because it could not load any data" came up on a blank grey screen. I would then have to click on the address bar, then on Yahoo to get back into Yahoo.
    For some reason I never had a problem with the Daily mail site opening..likely because I have little interest in that one!!!!

    Thanks so much from this not so "cluey" member for all your help, I'll remember to clear previous cards regularly (there were quite a few of them) and keep my fingers crossed.
     
  8. The OB

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,489
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,680 / 1
    Thanks for the informative response Stegsy, and I'm glad things are moving along more smoothly now. Enjoy the forum and keep posting:)
    Andrew
     
Similar Threads
  1. ZamNnico
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    939
  2. jeenie1128
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    794
  3. jbasil2k12
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    750
  4. Borderboy
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,246
  5. Grant052
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    659
Loading...

Share This Page