Safari

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by Borderboy, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. Borderboy
    Offline

    Borderboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hi, got an ipad4. All along been using Safari. Las few days it has almost become unworkable. Example. Select a sight either from Search or Bookmarks and it either only partially loads and stops or doesn't load at all.

    To Chrome on there as well and that works fine. Because of that don't think its wifi but checked that as well and it's all set up fine.

    Tried clearing Cache and History.
    Tried soft reset. Ie Home Button and Powe switch.
    Tried clearly task bar at bottom. Ie double click home button.
    Tried removing recently installed apps

    None of this works

    Like Safari because it has autofill.

    Am I missing something or is there something else I can try.
  2. Roy Rob
    Offline

    Roy Rob iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,148
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario Canada
    Ratings:
    +140 / 0
    Welcome Borderboy, sounds like your wi-fi to me. The only other thing I suggest is to delete the safari app and reload, it may have become corrupted somehow.
  3. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,156 / 1
    And just to clarify...you cannot delete the Safari app since it is a stock app that comes already installed on the iPad. I believe what you mean is to force Safari to "quit." To do this--double press the home button or do a 4-finger swipe to reveal the apps open. Long press on the apps until they shake and press the "x" in the corner to close the apps out.

    Hope that works! :)
  4. Borderboy
    Offline

    Borderboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    What I have done

    Thanks but as I said in the post have done both those things. Can't see how wifi is a problem as Chrome works perfectly.Already spoken to bt and router is brand new and the settings are spot on.Problems only occur with Safari not anything else
  5. Roy Rob
    Offline

    Roy Rob iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,148
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario Canada
    Ratings:
    +140 / 0
    It's the English laddie, they are undermining the Scottish networks prior to separation. 8). Seriously....you say it partially loads a site then freezes? What happens if you refresh the page? Has it just started doing this? Oh.... and thanks ski, I had a brain cramp there.
  6. Borderboy
    Offline

    Borderboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Freezing

    Yep just started in the last few days. Got rid of any apps (there were only a couple) that I had downloaded in the last week, well before problem started. Only get apps from I store same as anything else.One. Anomolly. I store said the Bear Grylles Survival Run game I've had since day 1 had an update. Went to store and started the update. It locked up. Only way I could get rid of it was to delete the game. Not made any difference to the other problem.Everything else related to WiFi is working fast and normal as always. Just Safari plying up. Think I'll have a large Malt (Lagavulin) and have a think about this.
  7. Borderboy
    Offline

    Borderboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Refresh

    Sorry didn't say refreshing does nothing. Wonder if chrome likes certain sites better than Safari. Another anomaly. Hard,but I'll try and describe it.Went into a national tv programme site to enter a daily comp. entered the details of the comp ie: answer; my details then you get to bottom of thee page where you have to fill in a usual Capacha (think that's the name) boxes. These were obscured by the web adverts at the bottom of the page. Couldn't move them to get to the capacha . Immediately went into Chrome and entered same site same page. No problem this time. Out of interest went back into Safari and tried the same site. Same problem. Weird
  8. Roy Rob
    Offline

    Roy Rob iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,148
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario Canada
    Ratings:
    +140 / 0
    Sorry Borderboy....I'm out of ideas, except......I will join you in....



    image-1436771248.jpg




    ......in a wee dram. 8)

    Hey forum folks......a little help here eh?
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2013
  9. Borderboy
    Offline

    Borderboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Nice one

    Excellent dram. Until retiring w one of the Lead Guides at Royal Lochnagar Distillery nr Balmoral on Deeside. Glad to see you appreciate a good dram!Interesting. Followed a link this morning from Mail to a site I wanted to unsubscribe from. Automatically it used Safari. Got so far through the form then it wouldn't proceed. Came out, gave up and followed the link to this site from your mails and again it used Safari but with no probs! Sems to like some sites and not others.Might see if I can make Google Chrome the default Browser.Slante
  10. Borderboy
    Offline

    Borderboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Well chaps must be the malt! Went back into Safari and looked at the settings. Way down the bottom Java Script was sert to off! Must
    have done that a few days ago by accident. This is why certain things on certain sites were not appearing to work but were ok on
    Chrome.
    Result all working normal again

    Thanks chaps for trying to help much appreciated.

    Keep in touch Rob Roy looks like we have something in common.
  11. Roy Rob
    Offline

    Roy Rob iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,148
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario Canada
    Ratings:
    +140 / 0
    There had to be a simple solution. There usually is particularly when you reach the bottom of anything such as Safari settings, Glenlivet 12, or any other fine single malt. Time to buy another bottle, check your settings, etc. slangevar Borderboy. 8)
Similar Threads
  1. matheusrgg
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,152
  2. ZamNnico
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    731
  3. jeenie1128
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    638
  4. jbasil2k12
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    561
  5. Grant052
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    436
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

home button missing from safari 07s

,

safari