Safari does not retain logins for forums, Facebook, etc

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by Jet noise, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Jet noise
    Offline

    Jet noise iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Prior to iOS 7, Safari would remember my login status for forums, Facebook, etc. even if I closed the safari app, I could still go right in to my sites without having to enter username and password again. Now, since I downloaded 7 (and 7.0.2), I am having to re renter username and password every time. I can still use tapatalk and the fb app, but I like the option of using the browser too. Is anyone else having this issue? This is getting frustrating!
  2. Somerled
    Offline

    Somerled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    make sure you dont have Private Browsing turned on. It is down in the lower left corner when Safari is open.
  3. Jet noise
    Offline

    Jet noise iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    That was it, thanks! I had private browsing turned on but I couldn't figure out how to turn it off...after some searching I found you turn it off by opening a new window, and using the lower left option. Much appreciated :)
  4. JC_AZ
    Offline

    JC_AZ iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When I open web browser using Safari i do not see the item mentioned in the lower left corner?
  5. abababababab
    Offline

    abababababab iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,964
    Thanks Received:
    558
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +796 / 0
    What item are you talking about? Could still be better if you could post a pic of where the item usually is and describe what it looks like so that we can help you out in a better way.
  6. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,008
    Thanks Received:
    2,917
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,411 / 2
    I think this member referred to "Private".
  7. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,008
    Thanks Received:
    2,917
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,411 / 2
    Do you have restrictions enabled? That may be the reason that you don't get the option.
  8. JC_AZ
    Offline

    JC_AZ iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Restrictions are off... someone suggested "Reset Network Settings"... what does that do and what is actually reset?
  9. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,008
    Thanks Received:
    2,917
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,411 / 2
    Please don't post your question more than once.

    Reset Network Settings is done in Settings - General - Reset - Reset Network Settings. When you do this, all your network settings will be erased (Wi-Fi, ...) and you'll have to set them up again.
  10. JC_AZ
    Offline

    JC_AZ iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can do that... do you agree this could be causing the problem I addressed? Thank you for your response

    JC
  11. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,008
    Thanks Received:
    2,917
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,411 / 2
    Your problem could possibly be fixed by doing this.
  12. JC_AZ
    Offline

    JC_AZ iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just curious, just for the Wi-Fi connections or the Verizon 3G setup as well?

    Thanks
    JC
  13. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,008
    Thanks Received:
    2,917
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,411 / 2
    Apple Support:

    This will clear your current cellular and Wi-Fi network settings, including saved networks, Wi-Fi passwords, and VPN settings.
  14. JC_AZ
    Offline

    JC_AZ iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Okay... thanks! My only concern is that the cellular network PW is not one I use so I may not have it anywhere...may have to figure out how to reset it first.

    Thanks again, I will try the rest network settings once I confirm my cellular PW... unless my iPad 'remembers' it as a saved PW.

    JC
  15. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,008
    Thanks Received:
    2,917
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,411 / 2
    Glad to help.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad does not remember facebook login
,

ipad not retaining facebook login

,
safari ios 7 facebook does not remember login
,
safari not retaining preferances