Running Programs in the Background

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by coolstuffs, Aug 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coolstuffs

    coolstuffs
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm running two different Angry Birds, a comics and looking at a full-featured Smithsonian video. I noticed that when I switched to either of one of the running game from the video the game shows onscreen momentarily then the screen switch by itself to show the program icons. I thought the Ipad is capable of running programs simultaneously in the background. Any idea on this?

    Thanks in advance for your input.
     
  2. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,358
    Thanks Received:
    909
    There is little true multitasking on an iPad. Music is probably the only case where a background task continues to run when a new process is started.

    All other processes are frozen in the state they were in when they were minimized. The "multitask" bar is actually nothing of the sort. It is simply a list of recently used apps that are ready to be resumed. Any apps not in the multitask bar will start from scratch when they are selected from the home screen/springboard.

    This is one reason that a reboot will not sort out a problem app that has started to display unusual or unwanted behaviors. It must be taken out of the multitask bar to allow it to start from scratch, rather than the state last used.

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF
     
  3. coolstuffs

    coolstuffs
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    2
    All the apps that I mentioned are in the multitask bar and have been running when switching to another app. But when resuming one of the games it starts from the beginning (that is starting from the beginning and you have to select the levels again) and not from where I made the switch. The only exception is the video. It did resume from where it is minimized into the bar. Any ideas? OS, memory, etc?

    BTW, thanks for the input.
     
  4. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,358
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Could be memory issues that forces the app to start from the beginning. As I understand it, the multitask bar is a first in first out system, so when there is so much memory being used by waiting apps, their memory space will be overwritten, and the data will not exist to resume them. In this case they will start again as though invoked from the springboard.

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF
     
  5. coolstuffs

    coolstuffs
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    2
    As what I learned somewhere in the forum that the device only has 1 GB of memory, (not 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB as others would persistently insist to be) could this be the reason why we have the stated observation on multitasking? Or is it also due to some bug in OS?
     
  6. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    It seems, IME, to be music/audiobook and navigation. IOW, Nav will run in the background with music or audiobook in the foreground (on the screen) or the other way around.
     
  7. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Likely is that the video app uses less ram and load the movie file in incrementally, as needed. The games, probably need more ram and thus get moved our of active memory once put in the background. It may depend on the game, too. For example, when I minimize Fruit Ninja with a group of apps on the bar, if I open it back up it comes up minimized. It might act differently with a different group of apps in the background. I just tried it with Angry Birds HD Free and after bringing it back up, it closed. When I activiated it again from the bar it started over from the beginning. Yet, Fruit Ninja pauses and resumes from where it left off.
     
    #7 AQ_OC, Aug 14, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  8. BocataDeChoped

    BocataDeChoped
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Games take a lot of RAM, it's almost impossible to keep them in memory if you switch to another app. It also happens with browsers if you have several webs opened in different tabs.
     
  9. theTimo

    theTimo
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Actually 1GB is not 'only'. But yes, the politics of announcing iPads as 16GB etc versions, sometimes gives people a wrong impression of the device. After all, how many of us have 16, 32 or 64 GB of memory (RAM) in our computers..? Well, the 16 and 32 GBs might be but 64 GB...
     
  10. coolstuffs

    coolstuffs
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The 1 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB values all refers to RAM sizes. Indeed confusion arises if the terms, memory, ram, storage are being use. Referring to Apples website the 16, 32, 64 GB values refers to the term Storage. Of course to realize the Storage size/value Apple or any manufacturer uses RAM. The 1 GB size that I'm referring to in my thread also makes use of RAM but it is use by the OS while it is running an app. To make the distinction and avoid misinterpretation between Storage and this another RAM, I use the word memory. These terms are standard terms that one usually encounters in technical media. I'm not telling anybody to accept all this terms that I'm using but it is provided here for the sake of understanding when I use them in my inputs in this thread.

    I definitely agree to what you have written, many have the 4, 8, 16, 32 GB memory computer systems nowadays. But 64 GB? I really don't know how many! All I can say, it is possible. The confusion resulting to a wrong impression I agree is the way the Ipad is being announced.

    Thanks for the input. I do appreciate your insight.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
clear programs running in background on ipad
,
how to clear programs running in background on ipad
,
how to clear programs running in the background of ipad
,
how to delte programs that run in the background of an ipad
,
how to make mxtube run in background
,

ipad programs running in background

,
ipad showing programs running in background
,
program in background ipad air
,
programs running in background on ipad
,

too much app running on ipad