1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Restoring

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by Waters, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. Waters
    Offline

    Waters iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I want to restore from my previous backup, but as soon as I connect, it automatically performs a fresh backup. How do I turn this off? This overwrites the last backup I actually wanted...

    Tim
  2. Patrizia_NC
    Offline

    Patrizia_NC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    I had the same problem. What I did was plugged in my old Ipad and backed everything up. Then plugged in the new one and right clicked on the iPad name in iTunes there is an option to restore from back up. Clicked that and a tab came up asking me where I wanted the restore from. I then chose the old Ipad and it worked perfectly
  3. Waters
    Offline

    Waters iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm with you here & have done just that with my new iPad.. Ie restoring new iPad with old iPad backup. Problem is.. As soon as you connect new iPad again to iTunes, it will automatically back up again without asking you whether you wanted to or not. In my case I didn't want to, as I wanted to restore from previous backup & not have it overwritten... Does that make sense? Tim
  4. Patrizia_NC
    Offline

    Patrizia_NC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    You should be able to stop auto backup by clicking on the little X in the corner. Also make sure auto sync is off
  5. Waters
    Offline

    Waters iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm on a windows pc, not mac... Where do I find/switch off auto synch please?
  6. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,345
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,728 / 0
    In iTunes, go to Edit > Preferences > Devices. Once there, you'll see a box titled something like "prevent iDevices from syncing automatically.". Make sure that box is checked.

    Oh, and I also Make sure iTunes doesn't automatically check for firmware updates (which is under Edit > Preferences > General; untick the box). That may just be the rebel in me, but I like to make my own decisions as to what stuff is done when...

    I also like to ensure iTunes doesn't open when I plug my device in (I'll control the behavior, thank you!). So, when the iPad is plugged in - on the Summary tab, at the bottom, I also ensure the box that reads "Open iTunes when this iPad is connected" is unchecked.

    Then, with the iPad still plugged in, under the Apps tab, I make sure the box under the apps list (titled "Automatically sync new apps" is also unchecked...

    Hope some of this helps.

    Marilyn
  7. Patrizia_NC
    Offline

    Patrizia_NC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    I'm a PC user too. It's at the top of the iTunes
  8. Patrizia_NC
    Offline

    Patrizia_NC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    When you plug in it says it's backing up there is an x in that box click it to stop the backup
  9. ColtsSN
    Offline

    ColtsSN iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Also, you may want to ensure you're backing up and restoring your data (if your apps have data). For example, I have an app that tracks the books I've read. When I moved from the 2 to the New I restored the app but not the data in it.
  10. Waters
    Offline

    Waters iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's a great help, many thanks! T
  11. Waters
    Offline

    Waters iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks again! T
  12. Patrizia_NC
    Offline

    Patrizia_NC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
  13. Waters
    Offline

    Waters iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have an HP photo smart C4599 all in one printer; can you advise the best printing app. to use with an ipad 3?
Similar Threads
  1. AppleAlias3
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    9,312
  2. RudyL90
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    913
  3. ldrki
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    555
  4. Johneb
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,499
  5. sophiemilosevski
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    501
Loading...

Share This Page