Restore will bring it back to Factory delivered condition ??

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Mahmud57, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I purchased the iPad 2 with iOS 4.3.3. Then I installed many applications and data, also upgrade it to iOS 5.
    I sync. It with iTune of my laptop many times. Now if I Restore my iPad with iTune (not sync.) shall it go back to my last sync. Condition or shall go back to default factory settings (iOS 4.3.3 with default applications) ? Please advise.
     
  2. Mickey330

    Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,876
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    No, restoring your iPad will bring it back to the latest iOS version Apple is signing. In this case, it will be the iOS 5 you have.

    We say "like new from the box" and "factory condition" to emphasize that the iPad will have none of your personal data (or apps) on it after a restore. You'll have to re-load everything back on it - or restore from backup.

    Hope that reassures.

    Marilyn
     
  3. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks. But for Apps and data where I will find out the option Restore from Backup ?
    I saw only one Restore button in iTune. Or do I have to push the Sync button ?
     
  4. Mickey330

    Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,876
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    If you select "Restore" in iTunes, it will begin the process of restoring. You'll have a bit of a wait...

    Then, when it's finished restoring, iTunes will prompt you to either restore from new or from backup. At that time, you pick the restore option you want.

    As a side note/warning - make sure you've done a back-up before you start any restore ... if you want a new one. It's just easier/best to have a newer backup, versus one that's a couple of days/weeks/months old.

    There also is an option to "restore from backup," which is different than what I described above. With the iPad connected to iTunes, if you right click on the iPad line (in the left column), you will find an option to restore from backup. I've never tried a restore that way, so I can't tell you how it works. Sorry.

    Hope this helps.

    Marilyn
     
  5. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I did not find any button for backup in iTune but every time it shows 'Backing up' when I push the sync button.
    Is it the backup method ?
     
  6. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,753
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    If you right click on the iPad under the Devices list in iTunes you will find both the backup and the restore from backup options.

    If all you want is to recover lost application data, you can do a restore from backup without first restoring the iPad. Hold in mind you'll lose any changes in that data from before that backup was made. This will not remove apps (though it has been known to occasionally re-arrainge them on the home screen)

    Unless you have iOS 5, and changed your backup options to iCloud, the iPad will backup every time it syncs. iTunes only keeps one backup, so if you've synced synced you lost your app data, it is already overwritten.
     
  7. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks Poet. I have iOS5. Do I need to Backup or Sync periodically ? Or Sync is enough as it performs the Backup in the time of Sync procedure ?
    -- 57
     
  8. luvmac

    luvmac
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i believe so.. thats what restore mean right??
     
  9. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,753
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    As long as you are not using iCloud to backup, a backup is done every time you sync. It is sometimes a good idea to go into iTunes Preferences, the Devices Tab and prevent the auto launch and syncing. You do this when you want to restore the iPad from a previous backup without the risk of overwriting that backup.

    If you do backups on your computer (and you should) make sure the backup folder is included. That way you will have a history of backups you can restore to the computer to use to restore the iPad.

    iTunes: About iOS backups
     
  10. Mahmud57

    Mahmud57
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello Poet, can you explain a little more how to make the Backup with different history ?
    --57
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
does a factory restore bring back ios6
,

does reset ipad2 also reset to original ios

,
how to bring back ipad 4 back to out the box condition
,
how to bring ipad 2 back to factory conditions
,
how to factory restore ios 4.3.3 on ipad
,
ipad 2 factory reset back to ios5
,
restore ios to factory ipad 2
,
restoring ipad 2 to factory setting with overwrite
,
what was ios factory version of ipad-2