Restore held up

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Jupiter7, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. Jupiter7

    Jupiter7
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Thanks Received:
    417
    can anyone please advise whether I can delete an App (BBC I Player), which is greyed out and is the last App to reinstall after a full factory resteton an iPad2. I started the restore installation of my iCloud around 3 pm after taking it to the Apple shop for a factory reset this morning. Many thanks for any help.
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,651
    Thanks Received:
    9,624
    Look at Settings - General - Usage - Storage - Manage Storage. If you find the app there, tap it. You should be able to delete it there.
     
  3. Jupiter7

    Jupiter7
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Hi Joanne. I thought of that, but it hasn't reappeared there!
    It is just sitting glowering at me from the Home Screen and it says still restoring in iCloud settings!
     
  4. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,651
    Thanks Received:
    9,624
    Then go to Settings - iCloud - Backup. If you see that it's still restoring from the backup, although everything is on your iPad except for that app, stop it. You should be able to download the app afterwards.
     
  5. Jupiter7

    Jupiter7
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Thanks Received:
    417
    It does say it is still restoring. Would it be safe to press and hold a greyed out App or would it have no effect? I don't want to upset the reloading.
     
  6. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,651
    Thanks Received:
    9,624
    Afaik it doesn't have an effect, when you press the app.

    Did you see "... still restoring" in iCloud settings, or somewhere else?
     
  7. Jupiter7

    Jupiter7
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Or did you mean stop the actual restore?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  8. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,651
    Thanks Received:
    9,624
    That's what I meant, if it's just the app that's still restoring.
     
  9. Jupiter7

    Jupiter7
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Thanks Received:
    417
    I think we just posted at the same time! Under iCloud Backup, it says it is restoring.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  10. Jupiter7

    Jupiter7
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Is it definitely safe to do that? Excuse me asking! I am a bit nervous, but I suppose I can always start the whole process again.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page