rectify formula malfunctions

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by borryman, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. borryman

    borryman iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have been using ipad 2 for over a year and up to a few days ago, have had no problems with formulas in added Excel spreadsheets. Yesterday I added an updated Excel spreadsheet into Numbers as usual. When creating a COUNTA function for column A which had 503 (A2:A504) nonempty cells, instead of giving a result of 503, it gave a result of 1.
    Can anyone help me on this problem
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,029
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,823 / 1
    Can you add a screenshot of what the function looks like in Numbers?
     
  3. borryman

    borryman iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have not got the incorrect result showing now as I found an answer to the problem. i downloaded the spreadsheet with the formula already created and it worked ok. i realise that it isn't the real answer but it works for me.
     
  4. borryman

    borryman iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have thought about your question and i remember what the function looked like thus: =COUNTA(A2:A504). But the function on the spreadsheet I downloaded last had the same but there was a small triangle to the right of A504 which when i touched it, a window came up for preserving rows on start and end but they were all turned off, if you understand all that.
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,029
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,823 / 1
    It means that instead of selecting a range of cells, you've selected the column. This is a nice feature that only works with some functions. When you use it, it automatically includes all non-header (or footer) cells in a column or row. The advantage is that if you expand the column or row, the new cells are automatically included without the need to adjust the formula.

    To choose the column or row when creating a formula, you tap on the gray bar above or beside the column or row. I'm not sure what the options do (when you tapped on it). I've never fooled with them.

    The formula must either be outside the column or row; or in a header or footer. Otherwise you'll get an error about it be self referential (or something like that).
     
Similar Threads
  1. Zera
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    8,603
  2. Gabriel1
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    13,257
  3. Sixtythree
    Replies:
    31
    Views:
    17,055
  4. KevinO
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,604
  5. rockinamini
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,686
Loading...

Share This Page