What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Quitting programs on ipad 3

packard10

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Is there a way to quit programs on iPad 3? I'm finding that even when I click the home button at the back, programs are still running. Specifically I'm talking about games like the sims and stuff. I've searched for a quit button on the main screen and there's none. Also searched under settings. I know with android there is but is there not with iPad? I feel like its silly to have those programs running and using up battery life. Also, I'm a teacher and I use this in the classrooms an I don't want the notifications always popping up and taking away from my kids learning.

Midranger4

iPF Noob
Reaction score
packard10 said:
Is there a way to quit programs on iPad 3? I'm finding that even when I click the home button at the back, programs are still running. Specifically I'm talking about games like the sims and stuff. I've searched for a quit button on the main screen and there's none. Also searched under settings. I know with android there is but is there not with iPad? I feel like its silly to have those programs running and using up battery life. Also, I'm a teacher and I use this in the classrooms an I don't want the notifications always popping up and taking away from my kids learning.

Double tap the home button.

Behold the background apps task bar.

Long tap any icon until it wobbles and exhibits a red minus sign, release

Now tap every red minus sign to remove program from RAM.

Tap home button to escape

Note:

Notifications are independent of the active task bar and will push notifications regardless if so configured.

Last edited:

petermillard

iPF Noob
Reaction score