Question Regarding The Ipad 2

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by gconlin, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. gconlin
    Offline

    gconlin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello,


    My name is Greg. I am having a bit of an issue with Ipad's renewing DHCP leases on the Ipad2. I am connecting to a medium size network (about 200 computers), and when I go to renew the leases, the button darkens but then does not renew the lease. It will let me exit and re-enter and the IP address remains the same.


    Can anyone on this forum tell me what could be wrong and help me resolve this issue?



    I will add--- I tried resetting the network settings, they reset but did not fix the issue
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  2. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +232 / 0
    Welcome to iPadForums. We hope you enjoy your stay with us. Please also take the time to peruse the forum rules here and abide by them as you post throughout the forum.

    Try forgetting the network and hard resetting your device. On large networks, it may be a network-end issue where the network's not refreshing or distributing IPs by demand. That and iOS (frankly) does not have the best network management by default, and a lack of a debug console such as Terminal on OSX/Linux or Command Prompt for Windows makes it pretty hard to debug the connection issue, and all you can really do is reboot/hard reset the device, and forget and reconnect to the network again. I have times where my phone has better wifi connectivity than my iPad, and vise versa, which is a real pain when you need connectivity on the spot.

    A temporary solution (if allowed to do so or applicable) would be to create an ad-hoc connection on a hardwired computer until the IP distribution resolves itself or when the device feels like working again.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  3. gconlin
    Offline

    gconlin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Willerz,


    Thanks so much for taking the time to reply and try to help me troubleshoot this issue. If I "Hard Reset" the device, will I lose all of my apps? I'm having the issue with over a hundred iPads and it would be a difficult task to reconfigure all of them within the "configurator" program.
  4. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +232 / 0
    Nope not at all. A hard reset on the iPad is much like a cold reboot of a computer whereby you press and hold the power to turn off the computer immediately, and nothing is cached as it would be when you turn it off normally (when turning off a computer or a mobile device, it usually takes a minute or so for the OS to cache itself so that when you reboot certain aspects are made effective and such, which is what a hard reset or cold reboot "bypasses"), so any issues will not be stored on the device and should not replicate itself when you power on the device again. A hard reset on an iPad can be done by pressing and holding the power and home buttons simultaneously, and keep holding it until you see the Apple logo, then releasing both when you do see the logo. This is a common solution for I would say probably 4 out of 5 software related issues on the iOS as well as many other handheld devices. Hard resets should not affect the data on your device at all universally speaking.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  5. gconlin
    Offline

    gconlin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm sorry--- what am I supposed to hit with the power button?
  6. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +232 / 0
    Ah sorry, got deleted while typing. The power and home button. Fixed in post
  7. Gtatler
    Offline

    Gtatler iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    303
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Google renew lease not working.

    One of the links I read states "Typically people need new IP addresses to get around network conflicts with other devices on the same network, though most modern wi-fi routers are much better at handing out IP’s and theoretically should never assign the same address to multiple devices. Nevertheless, it does happen from time to time even with the newest hardware and newest routers, especially if there is a lot of activity on a network. For those who repeatedly encounter the conflicts, assigning a manual address higher in the IP range than what is typically assigned can resolve that problem completely."

    Don't know if that may help you.

    Sent from my iPad 2 using iPF
    • Like Like x 1
  8. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,235
    Thanks Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,183 / 1
    Renewing a DHCP lease does not normally change the IP address. At least not as long as the current IP address is still available; which it will be if you are already logged into the network, because you are using it. All it does is tell the DHCP server that your device is live and want's to reserve (or keep) an IP address for it's use, for however long the server is set to allow.

    In the normal course of events your device automatically renews your DHCP lease whenever it expires (if it's connected to the network). The IP address does not change.

    Forgetting and logging back into the network is more likely to change the IP address; but it is a gamble. Depending on how the DHCP server is set to distribute IP addresses you can easily end up with the same one again. The most common method of distributing IP addresses is to always give the lowest address currently available. Under this method your IP address would only change if a lower numbered address is available when you log back in, or some other device sneaks in and grabs your forgotten address before you log in again.

    In short, there is no convenient way to force the DHCP server to give you a new/different IP address. Well, unless you create a static address for your device and reserve it on the server. Then you'll have to change it 'manually' in both places when needed. Obvioulsy this only works if you control both the DHCP server (router usually) and the device.
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page