What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Query re iOS and automatic software updates of apps

happytravels

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi

I'm a newbie using a white 64 gb wifi iPad.

After updating to latest iOS, I had around 20 updates of various apps. In my excitment of the slightly different layout, I mistakenly pressed the update all button then noticed that the kayak app was a paid update....... I only have the free kayak app and do not want to buy and paid version of this update.

Seems odd that a paid update was sneaked in and wasn't more obvious. It's not a great deal of money and don't mind that much but will this happen again with any othe apps?

Any tips to avoid this for next time or is this the norm?

KevinJS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Sneaky. Thanks for bringing this to the forum's attention.

As far as advice goes, avoid "lite" versions whenever possible, or check the info before you download. I've never heard of this before, and consider it an underhand way of doing business, particularly now that updates don't need a password. How many "free" games will end up on iDevices with only a child's self-control to prevent a potentially costly upgrade? Perhaps a complaint to Apple...?

susanlackey

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yikes, that is scary. I have been hitting update all as well. Mostly I use the paid apps, but there are a few that I just don't see the need for the paid app as I don't utilize them enough to justify paying for them. Thank you for the heads up, I am definitely going to be more careful.

OP
H

happytravels

iPF Noob
Reaction score