Problem when syncing ipad with itunes

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by rdefino, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. rdefino
    Offline

    rdefino iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have an ipad2 and I'm not very good with itunes. It confuses me.

    So I had my ipad synced with another pc and now I got a new one. I installed itunes on the new one and now when I plugin the ipad it wants to erase and sync with the new itunes.

    Will that wipe out all my music pics apps photos on the ipad?

    If it does how do I backup my app and pdf's and stuff so I don't lose it?

    Any help would be great.
  2. Expidia
    Offline

    Expidia iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I had the same issue since itunes is so user unfriendly. I found the answer quicker by just asking the same question in google. Its faster than searching this site cause you have to go through so many threads to find it.
  3. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,811
    Thanks Received:
    2,206
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,630 / 1
    Here is Apple's recommendations on how to transfer all your stuff to a new iPhone. With a few modifications it works very well for moving your iPad to a new computer. Wish I could find one as well written for the actual task.

    How to back up your data and set up as a new device



    Start by going into iTunes Preferences (before connecting the iPad) and turning off auto-sync. It is under the Devices tab. This will prevent any unwanted syncing before you are ready.


    Do only the parts that apply to your information/situation (i.e.; if you are syncing contacts with Google, don't do the Personal Information Manager part. Stop when you get to the Restore step.


    It would be wise, after the Transfer Purchases option to go through iTunes and make sure everything (media, app, book) got transferred. If not you may have a few more steps to insure all your stuff gets safely backed up on the computer.


    NOTE: If you have picture albums in the Photos app, and they are not backed up somewhere other than the iPad, you need to save them first before doing anything else. The first sync will remove them. The PhotoSync app works well for this, and you can use it before starting any of the other procedures.


    The quality of the pictures recovered this way will probably not match the originals. iTunes optimizes photos for viewing on the iPad when it syncs them.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
erase ipad now,. on ipad start by starting new,.wipe out material on last viewing
,

itunes wants to erase my ipad

,
problem syncing itunes library to ipad 2
,
syncing itunes