Problem entering text in a 'Net forum w/iPad 2

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by k7lvo, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. k7lvo
    Offline

    k7lvo iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    There is one forum (FJRForum) that I'm on that I cannot enter text in. When I tap the text window, unlike other text windows that bring up the keyboard, nothing happens. This occurs with every app I've tried - Safari, Atomic Lite, Atomic full, IPB, and possibly a couple of others. These same apps work on the site with my iPhone 3GS. Any ideas?
  2. Ipad007
    Offline

    Ipad007 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    in those other 3rd. party browsers, have u tried changing what the web views you as? fir ex., in atomic, u can switch from safari to ipad to windows explorer to etcc..sometimes switching that up will enable the txt box to highlight, enabling you to enter txt. i had that happen before. also try out icab browser. its really good, even better thn atomic. you can get it from the app store.
  3. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,412
    Thanks Received:
    2,036
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,322 / 1
    Go into you options in the forum. You sometimes have a choice of text editors to use. The most problematic are the WYSWYG. No telling what they are using. Change to a HTML or Plain Text editor.

    As for the iPHone vs the iPad, double check the URL's and make sure you are not being redirected on one of them.
  4. k7lvo
    Offline

    k7lvo iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Okay, I changed Atomic to show that it was IE7, which did no good on the FJR Forum. I then looked at the forum setting and found that The following option was checked.


    Enable visual (RTE) editor?
    Rich Text Editor requires IE6+, Mozilla / Firefox 3.0+, Safari 4+, Google Chrome, or Opera 9+

    I de-selected it, which allowed me to bring the keyboard up with the normal tap on the text window.

    I didn't bother to change Atomic back to the normal iPad before coming back here to rely that one of the suggestions worked -- and found that I couldn't tap open a text window here! I chained Atomic back to the iPad standard and now it seems to work normally.

    Thanks for the excellent siggestions!
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011
  5. appleeater
    Offline

    appleeater iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    In other sites (yes this ipadforums.net) and Hotmail I am unable to bring up the keyboard in the Atomic browser. When I select 'Safari Desktop' it works.

    But with Hotmail it is even worse: with none of the user agents I can enter text.
  6. k7lvo
    Offline

    k7lvo iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Strange. I don't use Hotmail so I can't comment, but I regularly use Atomic on ipadforums and experience no issues.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cannot enter text into ipad form web app

,

cannot enter text into textbox, ipad

,

i can't enter text and send in ipad text