What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

probably dumb question

jse

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,
Total Newbie here. Have mercy on me, my question will probably sound dumb to most of you.
I am the pround owner of a new IPAD2, which my girlfriend got me (nice, huh?)
She has a nice new Mac computer at home. I do not own any computer myself (my email is from my workplace).
Is it possible to set up my IPAD2 without synching it up with her Mac?
Won't plugging it into her computer access her iTunes account, etc.?
I'd like to maintain my own music, videos, apps, with a seperate account.
Or do we need to have two iTunes accounts on her Mac?
Appreciate any advice.
Thanks, JSE

SweetPoison

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Never worry about a dumb question! And welcome!

Yes, you do have to set up your iPad on iTunes. I think you can have up to 5 accounts in iTunes. You will need your own ~

Nonie3234

iPF Noob
Reaction score
You need to create your own iTunes library. My husband and I have a separate library for each of our iPods, and I have another library for my iPad, and another one for my future iPhone. (Yes, I am stocking the library with content ahead of time!)

I am sorry I'm not sure how to create a library on a Mac (hopefully someone will chime in) but on a PC, you hold down the shift key BEFORE you launch iTunes. You'll get a dialog box to "choose a library" or "create a new library". You want to create a new one, name it however you want, then stock it with all your apps, music, photos, whatever.

Then, make sure to ALWAYS hit that key before you sync your iPad and choose that same library each time, or you'll end up syncing to the wrong device!