Printing from ipad

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by kazkgb, May 23, 2012.

  1. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have an air printer but no pc is there anyway to connect them? Or do I need pc
  2. cailean
    Offline

    cailean iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You will need the printer to be connected to the same wifi network as the iPad
  3. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    And to do this I need pc/laptop? I need to use disk in box I thought I could just connect to my wifi, obviously not as easy as I thought
  4. orogard
    Offline

    orogard iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I use Active Print app. Excellent. Allows you to use your printer.
    Orogard
    • Like Like x 1
  5. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,657
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,480 / 1
    There should be instructions with your AirPrint printer on how to connect it to your wi-fi network without needing a computer. If they are not in the box, visit the manufacturer's site and look in support.
  6. ripipemender
    Offline

    ripipemender iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    North Kingstown ri
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Don't know what kind of printer, but I just installed a HP 8600 and it did not need a computer to set up. it will go thru looking for the network and you will have to input the network key and BAM its on your network , well that worked for me.
    hope this helps
  7. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tried website, even though I gave printer model, they still took me onto something my printer didnt have! So stuck again
  8. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tried this says can't see printer
  9. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's a hp 3050A
  10. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Only way I can find to do this is with pc
  11. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Calls it self air printer but to connect to pc first!
  12. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,657
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,480 / 1
    Your printer does show up in the AirPrinter list. Make sure it's also the right sub-model HP Deskjet 3050A J611, and check Hewlett Packard's site for any firmware updates. If they have any suggestions or troubleshooting tips about routers I check them out too.

    Sorry, but that's about all I can suggest.

    iOS: AirPrint 101
  13. HGraham
    Offline

    HGraham iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ActivePrint

    Basic "ActivePrint" does not show "Add Printer". Is it necessary to buy advanced App ?
  14. intechswetrust
    Offline

    intechswetrust iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i have an epson printer that works well with my ipad 2, was very east to set up
  15. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,657
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,480 / 1
    I'm not familiar with ActivePrint. You'll probably need to contact the developers for that info.

    I noticed that the Lite version has a two star rating (with lots of reviews). Not encouraging. The Pro version does not rate much better, and some of the more recent reviews say its AirPrint capability broke Under iOS 5.
  16. HGraham
    Offline

    HGraham iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The "add printer" requires a download to your PC, which was strongly questioned by Security and not recomended (no signature).
    Taking a chance, it seems to run fine using iOS 5.1.1., but is a little ackward - files have to be copied back to "ActivePrint" and then printed.
  17. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,657
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,480 / 1
  18. kazkgb
    Offline

    kazkgb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Work it out finally, but needed pc to sort it!
  19. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,657
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,480 / 1
    At least it is working. Thanks for letting us know.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

activeprint iso 5.1.1

,

printing with ipad

,

www.ipadforums.net/ipad/printing