Please Help!

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Dutchess, May 18, 2012.

  1. Dutchess
    Offline

    Dutchess iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I installed Long Slider from Cydia and it has frozen my ipad 2. I know I can simply restore it but I don't want to lose my jailbreak opertaing on 5.01. Is there anything I can do?!
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,482
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,868 / 0
    Do you have SBSettings installed - or do you have an Activator setting so that you can get into Safe Mode? Or, if you installed Mobile Substrate, you should automatically have the option to go into Safe Mode from a reset (aka reboot).

    The key part is that you want to get that iPad into Safe Mode so that you can get back to Cydia and uninstall that tweak that made your iPad go all "hinky.". Once you remove that tweak, your iPad should be as good as new.

    In case you don't remember the new way that Mobile Substrate allows you to get into Safe Mode (assuming you HAVE Mobile Substrate): Press and hold both the sleep and Home buttons until you get the Apple logo. Once you get the logo, immediately press and hold the Volume up button until you see the springboard come back. You should be in Safe Mode at this point and you can go to Cydia and delete that tweak. Once you have deleted it, respring your device and it should be good to go.

    Hope this helps. Good luck and Let us know how you get on.

    Marilyn
  3. Dutchess
    Offline

    Dutchess iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have Activator BUT I haven't set up any of its options! I'm screwed, aren't I?
  4. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,482
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,868 / 0
    No, just try the reboot and hold the volume part I outlined. If you have Activator, then you have Mobile Substrate and so the odds are that you have the upgraded version that lets you get into Safe Mode.

    Here, specifically, are the steps to activate Safe Mode (it's a picture directly from the developer, saurik):

    ImageUploadedByTapatalkBeta05041337381484.577894.jpg

    So, give it a try.

    Marilyn
  5. Dutchess
    Offline

    Dutchess iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    YOU ARE AN ABSOLUTE GENIUS! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! Got back into my iPad after entering Safe Mode per your excellent instructions! Removed that app and all appears to be working fine! Can't thank you enough. So glad I didn't panic and restore it!
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,482
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,868 / 0
    Yay! Glad it worked out for you. And yes, I'm glad that you didn't lose your jail break.

    But, the biggest thanks go to saurik (aka Jay Freeman) for updating Mobile Substrate so people have a way to get into Safe Mode. It definitely is a jail break saver as you have discovered. :)

    Marilyn

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to enter substrate safe mode

,

ipad safe mode volume up

,
volume+up+safe mode