1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Planetary

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by naman919, May 8, 2011.

  1. naman919
    Offline

    naman919 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    so i have the app and it's not crashing but is not going past the loading screen. i have eleven gigs of music on my iPad. maybe I'm not waiting long enough? waited over ten minutes with no results. tried a reboot and no luck. ideas? tips?

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I moved this to the Help section as I thought it might receive better attention there. I hope this was OK.

    Tim
    iPad Forum Moderator
  3. OUTL4W
    Offline

    OUTL4W iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,231
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, Pa
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My only suggestion is to delete, reboot ipad, re-install...you won't be charged again since you already paid.
  4. naman919
    Offline

    naman919 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    honestly if you could move it back, or to, the apps section i would appreciate it. the help section is pretty generic.

    thanks for the suggestion. no luck after attempting your idea. I guess i'm just gonna have to forgo using the app. it was free, but i'm still bummed.

    If anyone else has had a similar problem and found a solution, let me know. TIA!
  5. tzimisce
    Offline

    tzimisce iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I have about maybe twelve gigs of music on my iPad now and Planetary works fine for me, so it's not likely an issue with the volume of your music.

    The only other thing I think of is the operating system is designed to terminate an app if it is going to consume huge amounts of memory, or when memory is running low. If you have iOS 4.2 or later, you can double-click on the home button to bring up the multitasking bar, and see which other apps you have running, and remove them by holding each icon until it wiggles.

    Better yet, you can get the XSysInfo app, which reports on device memory and also has two levels of memory cleansing, which will improve system resource efficiency.
  6. naman919
    Offline

    naman919 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    thanks for the advice. i understand memory usage and have sbsettings with process killing available. i've tried to run planetary after a full reboot and killing any processes at startup, those able to be killed. i'm baffled at is point. running 4.3.3 untethered.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  7. peled
    Offline

    peled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I had the same problem with another program. It stayed that way for an hour (on WifI loading).
    Finally what I did was activating the iStore program and asked it to update the current updates ( there were 7 of them).
    And as soon as it started to perform the updates, the stubborn download cleared and finished - Every thing fine.
    Why ?
    Ask iOS.
  8. naman919
    Offline

    naman919 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    can you clarify? the app is downloaded already. the issue is that when the app is opened, it stays on the loading screen and says it is analyzing my music.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  9. peled
    Offline

    peled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    In that case your application does work, but it seems crippled . For some reason it fails on it's 1st task which has to do with examining your music. Can't help you there.
  10. naman919
    Offline

    naman919 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    i contacted the developer and he confirmed that jailbroken OS's aren't compatible. that is my issue. bummer.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  11. BLACKPANTHER19
    Offline

    BLACKPANTHER19 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It does work, I have been messing around with it.... :D
    1st. Install WinSCP and allow SSH from your Ipad....
    2nd Connect ipad to the same network you have installed WinSCP onto
    3rd Connect to the Ipad using WinSCP, find the ip and connect using that. To find the Ip go to settings wifi and click the little arrow next to your wifi network.... (if you havnt got the setting to show you it in sbsettings
    4th go to root by pressing the back folder button a few times.
    5th go to /private/var/mobile/Applications
    6th sort the files by order of when they were 'changed'
    7th click the top option to ensure it is Plantary
    8th go back and right click on the folder and click properties
    9th make sure all the permission text boxes are ticked apart from 'Set UID, set GID and sticky Bit' if in doubt set the octal number to '0777'
    10th click set group, owner and permissions recursively.
    11th accept the changes, and go to the little console button at the top and type in 'sudo killall -HUP SpringBoard' - this restarts the springboard.

    close all the apps you currently have running and try to load Plantary again, it worked for me... let me know if it helps.... :D
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  12. leisuiresuitgreg
    Offline

    leisuiresuitgreg iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That doesn't seem to work for me...
  13. wolfeslad
    Offline

    wolfeslad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've had this problem, I just forced it to shut down (double tap on the home button then tap and hold), when I opened it again it worked fine

    Sent from my iPad 2 using iPF
  14. BLACKPANTHER19
    Offline

    BLACKPANTHER19 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Guys,

    I have an update. So I went through Mobile Substrate Addons last night to find which ones were compatible with Planetary and which ones were not, and which ones worked combined. - So that we can use Planetary in Normal Mode, so we dont have to go into safe mode.

    and well, I compiled a list for you.

    Basically you need to install SBSettings. Once installed, bring down the menu, and go to 'more' you must then scroll down to 'System Wide Options' and then 'Mobile Substrate Addons'
    In there you need to Disable the Following:

    ActionMenu
    Activator
    AppList
    IntelliStatusIconsVi...
    TetherReach
    WinterBoard ( :( )
    manualcorrect
    zRingtonesHook.

    Some of those you wont have, those are some of the incompatible ones that are on my iPad. These are added when you add Apps through Cydia. I can 100% promise you it works on mine. It may not work first time on yours because you may have more Addons.
    Ill help you out by providing you a list of Addons that do work.
    If any of yours match mine, you know they work.

    These do work:
    AndroidLock
    BugFix_Duplicatelc...
    BugFix_StuckPages
    CyDelete
    Downloader
    FileScheme
    FullForce
    Graviboard
    Gridlock
    IconSupport
    Infinidock
    InfiniFolders
    Lockdownpro
    Mailtoattachment
    MemoryTap
    MultiIconMover
    PreferenceLoader
    RemoveBG
    SpringBoardAccess
    TabPlus
    TetherSB
    Blued-dun-config
    blued-springboard
    blued-tethering-spr
    gremlin
    iap
    libhid
    libstatusbar
    sandcastle
    scclient
    yourtube

    I really hope this helps you guys... It works on my iPad now, and Im happy. If it doesnt work straight away, try and use my old fix of permission changing aswell to 0755 in WinSCP.
    Let me know how you get on.
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad mini planetary wont run
,
planatay app crashes
,
planetary app crash
,

planetary app crashes

,
planetary app crashes ipad 2
,
planetary app for ipad 2 not working
,
planetary app for ipad openning problem
,

planetary app ipad crash

,
planetary app iphone is not working
,

planetary app keeps crashing

,

planetary app not working

,
planetary app stuck on load
,
planetary app will not load
,
planetary crashes ipad
,
planetary crashing ipad 3
,
planetary for ipad crashes
,

planetary ipad crash

,

planetary keeps crashing

,
planetary not working on ipad
,
planetary problem