picture deletion help

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Chesterflick, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. Chesterflick

    Chesterflick
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I take lots of photos and then sort them out and save to albums. When I put photos in the album they still remain in the picture file. When I go to delete these photos it tells me they will also be deleted in the album...well I dont want that to happen, is there a way to avoid this
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,276
    Thanks Received:
    10,472
    The photos you saved to an album will be removed as soon as you delete them from Camera Roll. There's no way around this. The photos in the albums are only just a kind of link to the Camera Roll photo. Sorry!

    A way around this would be to use Photo Sharing. Whenever you upload photos to your iPad, create a new shared photo stream, then you can delete the pictures from your Camera Roll. The photos in the shared photostream can be accessed on any Apple device with the same iCloud account.

    Hope that helps,
     
    #2 J. A., Jul 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2014
  3. Chesterflick

    Chesterflick
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that reply is not what I wanted to hear so please change your answer.... just messin with you. Is there a way to share them with my laptop? Looks like taking photos with this expensive toy for business is not going to fit in
     
  4. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,276
    Thanks Received:
    10,472
    There are several ways.

    You can import them to your computer. This will show you how it's done: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4083

    You can use iCloud's PhotoStream (not Photo Sharing this time), and then you'll be able to save the photos to your computer within 30 days, or as long as you don't exceed the photo number limit of 1000. Here's information about Photo Stream: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4486

    You can also use Shared Photo Stream to get them to your computer: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5903


    It's possible to sync the content of your iPad (also photos) to your laptop: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1296

    There are apps, like Photosync, that will help you: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/photosync-wireless-transfer/id415850124?mt=8

    Or you can use online storage. Some of them will upload your photos automatically, if enabled - Dropbox, OneDrive, Google Drive, ... to name just a few. That way you can access your photos everywhere.
     
    #4 J. A., Jul 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2014

Share This Page