Photos Deleted when downloading/syncing

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by edpad221, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. edpad221

    edpad221 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Morganton, NC
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am a new member and looking forward to iPad Forum tips and advice. I have an iPad, not the iPad2. My problem: My issue is with downloading photos. I have carefully followed instructions in iTunes to go to my iPad, click on Photos, choose folder with pictures and Apply. Works fine. BUT, when I choose another folder of photos to download the first download is deleted when I Apply. I have noticed that in the section "Sync photos from" that the "All Folders" is checked and I CAN'T select "Selected Folder" option. Not sure what I am doing wrong.
     
  2. Pocobear

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Everything you want to be on the iPad must have a check by it, if there is no check by it, it is deleted when you sync. That's the only way iTunes knows what you want to keep and what you want to delete. It will only upload the items that are not on the iPad, it will not duplicate them. This applies to song, apps, videos and photos.
     
  3. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,247
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,006 / 1
    What Pocobear said. If you deselect a folder, it will be removed.

    In order to use Selected folders you the other folders must be in the main folder you chose to sync. A good way to do this, if you are on Windows, is to put several folders in the My Pictures folder on you computer. Name them whatever you'd like your various albmums to be named. Then select the My Pictures folder to sync with. Check the Selected Folders options and select the folder/albums you wish to sycn. You can add and sync other albums to this folder later.

    To emphasise, iTunes syncs these folders. Any changes you make to them will also be made on the iPad next time you sync. This is the only way to change them. You can not edit or rearrainge them on the iPad.
     
  4. Wilson555

    Wilson555 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Opposite issue

    My problem is that each time I try to put new photos on my IPAD it copies all of them and so I have some photos with 3 or 4 duplicates. I am trying to remove them all to start over so following the info below I unchecked all photos and yes some photos are deleted but there are still hundreds in my I pad. This is a pain. I just want to know how to delete duplicates.
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,247
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,006 / 1
    Photos in the Saved Pictures, Camera Roll, and Imported albums do not sync with iTunes. They can be deleted on the iPad by choosing the share icon (top right when viewing an album), selecting them, and choosing delete.

    For all the rest, just turn off Photo syncing in iTunes, and sync.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
accidentally synced iphone to another itunes and lost photos
,
how to restore pictures lost during ipad sync
,

ipad sync deleted photos

,

ipad sync deletes photos

,
lost all pics in ipad syncing
,
lost photos after syncing ipad
,
lost photos on ipad
,

photos deleted when syncing ipad

,
recover ipad photos deleted when sync
,
will i lose my pictures after downloading to ipad from camera