What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Password hide type

Sharonbens

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to iPad and Mac in general - I love it! everything make sense and is so user friendly!!! One thing that I cant understand though is the "password- asterix- lag". Why make an hidden password if it shows every letter for 5 seconds before it decides to hide it. It might as well not hide it at all.
Please let me know if there is anyway I can change this so that it automatically shows an asterix and not each letter first.
Thank you so much for the help!!
S

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
No way to change it.

This is true of most devices using virtual keyboards. Even my Droid X does it. And I prefer it that way. Otherwise it can be hard to be sure you just hit the right key.

As far as security, if someone is close enough to read you password field on the iPad, they aren't going to have any trouble seeing what you are typing on the keyboard. Unlike a physical keyboard, you aren't going to be able to fake hit a key.

peled

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to iPad and Mac in general - I love it! everything make sense and is so user friendly!!! One thing that I cant understand though is the "password- asterix- lag". Why make an hidden password if it shows every letter for 5 seconds before it decides to hide it. It might as well not hide it at all.

S

So Someone that shows up behind your back when you key in your last letter, wouldn't be able to see the all password.

You do see each letter, for conformation. You are more likely to make a mistake with a virtual KB.

sdjensen2

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hiding Password a must