What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pad stuck in EDGE

vp007

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am relatively new to iPad. I am running 4.3.5 and my pad is stuck in EDGE mode though my sim has 3G activated on it. The hypothesis that I have is that when I had 4.3.3, I had jail broken and had installed sbsettings. Now in sbsettings you can toggle on/off EDGE and 3G separately. I was using Edge at that time and hence had no need for 3G. Last month when my pad crashed due to some issue while I was playing with Cydia, the restore, much to my disappointment, put in 4.3.5. I believe that somehow the previous sbsettings installation has somehow turned off a switch somewhere and that's why I am not getting 3G now. Any expert thoughts on what can I do?

f4780y

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
That's an interesting one. The SBSettings 3G toggle does work on the iPad, switching you back to Edge or GPRS if available, but of course there is no stock menu option to do this on the iPad (there is on the iPhone)...

One way to sort it is of course to downgrade back to 4.3.3, jailbreak, and use SBSettings to switch it back on. You should be able to do this if you have SHSH Blobs saved, and there is a good chance you do if you were previously jailbroken. You can follow this guide to find out if you do - http://www.ipadforums.net/jailbreak...01-how-save-your-shsh-blobs-tinyumbrella.html

There may (must) be a way of adjusting the setting in your backup file and simply restoring that on 4.3.5 too. You can use iBackupBot to interrogage your iTunes backup, but where it is in terms of a setting for 3G I have no idea... Sorry.

OP
V

vp007

iPF Noob
Reaction score