"Open In.." function not working

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by jpang, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. jpang
    Offline

    jpang iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi there,

    I own 1st gen IPAD for a year already, and since the first time (before jailbreaking) I got problem with "Open In..." function, sometimes it worked, sometimes not..

    after jailbreaking, it's completely not working, any file that I want to open in another apps is simply not doable.
    the apps list is there, but I cannot open it.. not working at all.


    any suggestion for this one?

    thanks,
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I've moved this to the jail breaking section.

    Tim
  3. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    So, you tap on an app and nothing happens?
  4. jpang
    Offline

    jpang iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    exactly .. nothing happens..
  5. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,561
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 0
    So, what are the Cydia tweaks you have loaded on your iPad? If we see the list, maybe we can see which one is causing you the trouble.

    I ask for that because I've installed practically every tweak from Cydia in a "try it out mode" and I've never come across this situation. So, there must be some combo you've got going that'll cause it. With the list, it'll help us narrow it down.

    Of course, I'm assuming you've tried a respring and/or reboot of your iPad, first...

    Marilyn
  6. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Do you have Action Menu installed?
  7. jpang
    Offline

    jpang iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, thanks for the quick response

    Aside from the basic cydia, I installed sbsetting, sbsetting toggle, locktopus and mywi

    And no actionmenu is installed and i have tried resring and restart many times.
  8. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,561
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 0
    Huh. Very strange - 'cause none of those tweaks should cause that problem.

    Next question: What app are you in that you are trying to use "Open In..."? And, what type of file are you trying to open. And what app are you trying to open?

    Maybe that'll help us narrow it down...

    Marilyn
  9. jpang
    Offline

    jpang iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi.. It happens on every apps.. No exception..

    I google it, and found nothing the case similar to me..
  10. OUTL4W
    Offline

    OUTL4W iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,236
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Gettysburg, Pa
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Not sure I understand....only time "open in" will show if you are trying to open a file as Marilyn said. It won't show if trying to open an actual app from the springboard

    Are you able to load the file into goodreader for ex. and use it's open in function?

    Which apps do you have locktapus controlling? Are they associated with the file you are trying to open?
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011
  11. jpang
    Offline

    jpang iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have goodreader, airsharing, doc2go.. All of them have option to "Open In..." other apps, when i tap it, the app list shows coreectly, but if i tap an app, let says iBook from Goodreader, then the iBook wont show, and so the other apps.

    I had deleted the locktopus, it seems doesn't fix anything
  12. peled
    Offline

    peled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Haven't seen any response to the question you were asked about performing a full reboot.
  13. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Since Locktopus is an app which locks access to other apps, I would try uninstalling that to see if it makes a difference... just a hunch...
  14. jpang
    Offline

    jpang iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Full Reboot... Many times.

    Locktopus.. Deleted..

    But still no fix occured.

    Any idea?
  15. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Nope. I'm stumped. I have over 70 JB tweaks and apps installed and no problems here. I don't think this has anything to do with your jailbreak.
  16. jpang
    Offline

    jpang iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    yes, I could agree with you, before jailbreaking, the Open In.. works but in a very slow process, it took 1 minute or more to open in other apps, and sometimes it failed.

    after jailbreaking, not working at all.

    thinking of upgrading to newer OS, and jailbreaking afterwards
  17. china_cat84
    Offline

    china_cat84 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You don't have any cracked or illegal apps or tweaks installed, do you? I've heard those can cause problems and instability with your device.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF - 64gig iPad2 White WiFi
  18. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    They can. I just hope jpang isn't a pirate.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
after upgrading ipad to ios 7.0.4. sbsetting not functioning
,
enable open in function ipad
,
how to enable open in on ipad
,
ios attachment open-in not working
,
ios open in not working
,
ipad open in feature not working
,

ipad open in not working

,
iphone open in function
,
iphone open in function not working
,
iphone open in not working
,
open in
,
open in function ios 7
,
open in function ipad
,
open in function on ios
,
open in function on ipad
,

open in ipad not working

,
open in not working iphone
,
open in.. not working
,
tap function on ipad not working
,
why openin does not work for ipad