Only iPhone 4S and iPad 3 Will Be Able to Run FaceTime over 3G

Discussion in 'Apple iPad News' started by Maura, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. Maura
    Offline

    Maura iPadForums News Team

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,493
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +107 / 0
    [​IMG]


    AppleInsider writes today that one of the exciting new features of iOS 6 as announced by Apple at its WWDC on Monday, FaceTime over 3G, will only be possible on either the iPhone 4S or the newest version of the iPad. So, if you’ve “only†got an iPhone 4, or iPad 2 (the original iPad will not run iOS 6 at all), you’ll still only be able to use FaceTime with a Wi-Fi connection. The reason for this is that FaceTime over 3G requires Apple’s A5 chip in order to operate, which currently only the iPhone 4S and the new iPad have. As AppleInsider notes, this is just one of several new features of iOS 6, including turn-by-turn navigation and Flyover in the Maps app, that will only be available on the very latest versions of Apple’s three main iOS devices.

    Source: FaceTime over 3G with iOS 6 limited to iPhone 4S, iPad 3
  2. Techgeek32
    Offline

    Techgeek32 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Too bad I phone 4 would not be able to run FaceTime over 3G.
  3. HKWrite12
    Offline

    HKWrite12 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oxford, MS
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Guess I'll HAVE to get the iPhone 5
  4. DeeGee48
    Offline

    DeeGee48 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Havertown, PA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    FaceTime over 3G and the iPad 2

    There must be some other reason for no FaceTime 3G on the iPad 2. You said the device needs the A5 (dual-core)
    chip. Well, the iPad 2 DOES have one! So what's the deal here!?
  5. mannyberrios
    Offline

    mannyberrios iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Can't wait

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
a5 in iphone does affect how to use facetime
,
can you facetime an iphone 4s with an ipad 3
,

does facetime work on 3g

,
facetime 3g ipad3
,
how well does 3 g work for facetime in fleet
,
ipad 3 facetime over 3g
,
will the the 4s be able to use facetime on 3g