O2&iPad

Discussion in 'iPad Carriers' started by King Hal, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. King Hal
    Offline

    King Hal iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I'm off to Europe on a HOG tour tomorrow, iPad safely packed for travelling. I phoned O2 today about data roaming. The answer? Nothing doing. "Buy a local micro sim card" was the only advice.

    So I need to find a shop in each of France, Belgium, Germany & Austria to buy a micro sim card and swap as I go along. Somehow I think not Jonny Foreigner! I'll have to hope the hotels have wifi.
  2. jaybrass73
    Offline

    jaybrass73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I got the micro SIM from an O2 store yesterday (free) and last night signed up to the PAYG version for iPad.

    O2 do three different tariffs, all with no contract and no tie in; 1GB, 3GB & 5Gb (£10, £15 & £25 per month respectively)

    You put the free microsim in iPad , sync with iTunes and then follow the onscreen instructions

    Hope this helps

    Jamie
  3. Smithy12
    Offline

    Smithy12 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As the OP has stated O2 only do data plans for use in the UK which is strange as you can use your iPhone abroad and I would imagine uses the same data.
  4. PhotoJim
    Offline

    PhotoJim iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Regina, SK, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The North American providers either provide no roaming (Telus, Bell, Rogers) or do but at atrocious rates (AT&T).

    It is a bit more of a nuisance for those of you in Europe, where you can cross four countries in a day's driving without making a ton of effort, but I still feel your pain.

    Maybe one day we'll have economical data roaming, but I plan to pick up an AT&T SIM when I'm in Buffalo, NY, USA next month and I'll get one in the UK when we go back (scheduled for 2012).
  5. Lionroar
    Offline

    Lionroar iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you get an O2 SIM, can you just put it in the iPad and have it self configure (like the Bell or AT&T sims) or do you have to sync with itunes? I was planning on just travelling with the ipad, so syncing would be a problem.
  6. jaybrass73
    Offline

    jaybrass73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    With my O2 SIM I plugged it in, followed the instructions and that was that. Not sure on the roaming front, think it differs from data roaming on iPhone SIM. Good for round town when you can't pick up a wireless hotspot
  7. Prasius
    Offline

    Prasius iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    You really do need to buy a sim in each country or you will get hammered on the data charges.
  8. King Hal
    Offline

    King Hal iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I'm on the iPad now in France using a hotel WiFi. The roaming simply doesn't work - as I was informed by O2.
  9. Iaincliffe
    Offline

    Iaincliffe iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, not sure if this is the correct area to post but just bought iPad but a bit hacked off with being tied to o2 UK tarrifs. I have tried cutting down as a PAYG o2 sim and using that but keeps asking me to register the unit to a number that never answers. I have put the original o2 iPad sim back in and it works immediately. Does anyone now a way around this?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad and wifi and sim and data roaming
,

ipad sim for austria

,
my o2 ipad wont work in germany
,

o2 activate data on ipad in europe

,
o2 travel for ipad?
,
prague sim card ipad