1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Numbers issue

Discussion in 'iWork Forum' started by spaceranger, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. spaceranger
    Offline

    spaceranger iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Having a bit of an issue with numbers
    Wish to make a pie chart but when the display chart comes up there is no segments and its all one colour
    Using ipad two
    I am just using one column of information ie monthly household expenses
  2. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,412
    Thanks Received:
    742
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Hi Spaceranger - welcome to the forum! :)

    I'm an intermediate Numbers user and have made charts in the past, so gave your request a try - the pie chart function behaved the same way for me, i.e. just one colored circle w/ 100% in the middle (no pie segments even after 2 different number formattings). Using the same data, I was able to make a nice 'bar graft' that looked fine.

    So, is this a 'bug' in the newest release of Numbers and/or in iOS 6.x (assume that you are using the newest iOS?) - just did a quick web search and found this 'unanswered' POST HERE, so appears that others have had the same observation. I'd wait to see if more members post their experiences.
  3. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    Hmm, just played with this. I can create a working pie chart using rows, but not columns. Using columns is as described, one 100% section.

    No idea why or if/when it will be fixed.

    @Giradman: I set up an email notification for the link you provided, but it's been more than a month without a reply, so I doubt we'll get an answer there.
  4. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,412
    Thanks Received:
    742
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Hi TP - agree about a LACK of responses, but just wanted to point out that at least 'another' has observed this problem - did not really go further in my search to see if others may have had the same issue - suspect a 'bug' issue? Dave :)
  5. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    No idea. I honestly can't remember if the pie charts worked with columns before the last update. Some things, like creating forms, only work using rows.

    On the other hand, the fact that the OP got them to work on the OS X version and that they still work when transferred back to the iPad suggests they should work; but if it is a bug then I'm surprised it hasn't made a bigger splash in the blogs.
  6. spaceranger
    Offline

    spaceranger iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks very much all for your help

    Never thought about using rows to achieve the pie chart. Will adjust my work sheet information so the data is in rows
    If that's what one has to do then so be it, strange as it may seem

    Thanks again
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    No problem.

    I hope Apple gets if fixed, or updated, or whatever soon.
Similar Threads
  1. daker
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    5,072
  2. alkan
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    3,398
  3. markskidmore
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,085
  4. rmpresti
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    472
  5. Pauley
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    689
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

create pie chart numbers iwork ipad

,

issue with pie chart in apple numbers on ipad