No service in a coverage area help

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Ludzy, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. Ludzy
    Offline

    Ludzy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi

    If this is in the wrong section please move.

    So I'm having problems connecting my iPad 3G to AT&T. I bought a iPad AT&T data sim from eBay at home (uk) to use while holidaying in Orlando. My ipad works fine on all uk carriers networks and I have never had to sync iPad to iTunes to get uk iPad sims to work. So at the minute my AT&T sim does not work in Orlando. I just have the no service msg in the top left. I'm currently connected to free wifi so I'm using the iPad at the minute. Now when I press the my account option it takes me to the AT&T sign up page with the data options I can use. As soon as the free wifi is disconnected the my account page will not load as no service msg is in the corner. I have my blackberry next to my with full 3G AT&T signal. I don't understand why my iPad can't find a signal? Even tho I have yet to sign up for data via the AT&T page the iPad should still find a signal so I can sign up via the 3G service then start using the data plan I will purchase. I have free wifi where I'm staying but would still like to know if the sim card is faulty or if I'm doing something wrong.

    Cheers
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Have you set up the new APN for AT&T?

    Go to 'Settings', 'Cellular Data', 'APN'

    and also see

    Answer Center | AT&T

    You should also be able to 'see' all the cellular networks your iPad is receiving by going to 'Settings', 'Carrier' and waiting for a few seconds ('Searching' will appear as your iPad 'scans' for cellular data signals).

    There will be an APN specific to your AT&T data plan and it's possible too that it was supplied with the SIM. If the above web site is not specific enough, I would simply try a couple of APNs while enjoying a nice cold drink.....

    Tim
    Scotland
  3. Ludzy
    Offline

    Ludzy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    There is no apn setting in cellular data options. That's why I'm confused? All that's there is cellular data on/off, data roaming on/off, my account and sim pin. Also there is no carrier tab under settings. But when I go to settings/about under carrier it does say AT&T 9.0. That's all I've got. Maybe I have a dodgy sim?

    May go into a apple store or AT&T store when I'm passing

    Cheers

    UPDATE:

    Just tried my o2 sim in and straight away all the settings pop up (apn etc...). Say searching for awhile then no service. Tried my 3 sim and straight away picks up AT&T signal. I think I have a dodgy sim. Because no options appear when the AT&T sim is in the iPad. At least I have wifi at the villa where I am.

    Cheers
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011
  4. Ludzy
    Offline

    Ludzy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    All sorted. After a trip to the apple store it works fine. With AT&T sims you have to actually go thru the data tariff setup and buy it then the iPad will find the AT&T signal. Oh I didn't go to the apple store actually to get the sim working. My iPad stopped working yesterday morning so booked genius appointment and within 30 mins nice man at Orlando store gives me a replacement. Great service!

    Thanks

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how can i find out why i have no service for ipad
,
i pad no service with cellular
,
ipad at&t no service
,
my ipad says no service
,
my ipad shows no service but has the internet symbal
,
what does it mean when it says no service on the top left of my ipad
,
why does ipad say no service
,
why does it keep showing a evat the top of my ipad
,
why does it say no service on my att ipad
,
why does my apple ipad keep saying no service
,
why does my cellular data why does my ipad say no service
,
why does my ipad not have service
,

why does my ipad say no service

,
why does my ipad say no service when i have cellular coverage
,
why does my ipad say no service when on cellular data
,
why does my ipad say no service.
,
why does my ipad show no service?
,
why ipad with at&t cellular plan says no service
,
why is my ipad saying no service when i try and get on the internet
,
why why does why does my ipad say no service