Nightmare Trying To Get Wi-Fi Hotspot. Help needed.

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by hpowders, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. hpowders

    hpowders
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I live in Florida and have Brighthouse/Earthlink high speed cable for my 2 year old Apple iMac.

    Next week, my wife will be bringing home an iPad 2, 16 GB, Wi-Fi, she got as a gift. So naturally, I want to set up a Wi-Fi hot spot in my home to accommodate the iPad. Brighthouse tells me the wireless routers they use only work with their Road Runner internet service, not the Earthlink service. (Groan!) I asked if I change to Road Runner, would the router work with my iMac, and they don't seem to know.

    I got so disgusted with them, I was about to order Verizon Fios with router, but found in the small print that the router is only good with Windows PC's!

    I never thought an iPad would be a home wrecker!

    Any suggestions as to what I should do to get a Wi-Fi setup in my home for my iMac desktop and iPad?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Mike4AU

    Mike4AU
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How about an Apple Airport Extreme?
     
  3. hpowders

    hpowders
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did some research and found the Apple Airport Express-very small and portable. I could bring it anywhere. Plug the ethernet modem cable into the unit and go to "airport Utility" in applications, fill in some stuff and I'm good to go. $99. So simple!

    Thanks for your input, Mike!

    Lesson number one: you want something done easy, stay the heck away from the cable companies!!;)

    Lesson learned!!
     
    #3 hpowders, Aug 30, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011
  4. Mike4AU

    Mike4AU
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was actually referring to the Extreme, but if the Express works, go for it. Hope this helps.
     
  5. hpowders

    hpowders
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, Mike. All I have is an iMac and the soon to be iPad2. The Express should be more than adequate.
     
  6. Allswell

    Allswell
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What are you going to do when a ethernet connection is not available......?
     
  7. pbansen

    pbansen
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Maybe I'm missing something, but I've found home WiFi networks to be compatible with both Windows and Mac computers (including the iPad and iPod Touch). My home network supports an HP desktop connected to the router through the Ethernet port on the computer, another desktop (Dell) connected wirelessly with a USB port WiFi adapter, several Windows laptops connected wirelessly as well as my iPad and iPod Touch. When travelling, I've connected my Windows laptop through my Dad's AirPort with no issues.

    We have several wireless routers at work that also accommodate both PC's and Macs

    The ISP's now seem to be providing DSP or cable modems combined with a router (rather than using a separate modem and router), but I can't think of any reason why, if the router and computers are correctly configured, they shouldn't be able to support either a PC or a Mac.

    Basically, my impression is that WiFi is WiFi - it shouldn't matter what the platform of the computer is, provided that the router and computer are configured to talk to one another. If the wireless router (or combination modem/router) is configured to that the network name is visible and the security is either turned off or configured to allow access by the computer, it should work.

    When you get the iPad, see if your network shows up in Settings. If it doesn't, try going into the router configuration using the computer that currently works with the router and check the security settings and whether the router is set so that the network broadcasts its name - if it doesn't, that can keep it from showing up on potential client computers.

    Bottom line - your current network may work perfectly well with the iPad, there's really reason to think that it won't until you try it.
     
  8. hpowders

    hpowders
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay. Thanks for your help.
     
  9. hpowders

    hpowders
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, what you are saying is I can't just go into a hotel room and plug in my Airport Express and get wi-fi.
     
  10. CybrDuke

    CybrDuke
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just recently got my first iPad after being a PC all my life. I wondered about the network as well. I got the iPad home, turned it on, it recognized the network, I gave it my key and it's been happy sailing ever since. I have a net gear router, nothing special. Good luck.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

bright house wifi router

,
bright house wifi to ipad
,
earthlink brighthouse hot spot
,
how do you configure iphone for brighthouse hot spots
,
how to connect to brighthouse hotspots
,
laptop cannot connect to brighthouse router wi-fi
,
setting up an airport express off of ipad hot spot
,
trouble signing into brighthouse hotspot
,
why wont my airport express work with brighthouse cable
,
wifi hot spot settings for brighthouse