What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newsstand

jsh1120

iPF Noob
Reaction score
None. At least not forever. The entire point of Newsstand is to sell you subscriptions so Apple can take a 30% cut. It's called Publishers Clearing House for the iPad.

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Well, I'm finding Newsstand to be a royal PITA! :D

Everything seems 'free' at first opening, but that is just to download the little apps for each magazine - then you have to BUY or SUBSCRIBE to the publication - well it's not free! Also, I downloaded the Sound & Vision app, a magazine that I have a subscription and get the 'hard copy' - there was no option for me to also download issues that I already bought from them - pretty primitive in my mind! (P.S. Wired did offer that option, so much inconsistency).

Now I do enjoy the Zinio app and was worried about Apple bringing out their own magazine program - how would it affect Zinio - I have 3 mag subscriptions there - sent them an email and the reply is quoted below; appears that Zinio is still a mag option (at least I hope from this response) - :)

Thank you for contacting Zinio Customer Support.

We have no current plans to integrate with Newsstand. The app is safe. You can also purchase from Zinio.com directly to avoid Apple getting a cut of the profit. We currently do not offer Nook support. I apologize for any inconvenience.

Please let me know if I may be of further assistance!

Kind regards,

Maren
Zinio Customer Support

thewitt

iPF Novice
Reaction score