What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to Mac, need company only app

ITbyDefault

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hey guys. Seems that this is a pretty active/knowledgable forum, so I'm hoping you guys can help me! I've been thrust into the role of IT. I'm the bookkeeper.... and I've never used mac before this week. I need the following...
1. To create an app for frequently used docs. This app needs to:
- be accessable to ONLY employees
- be able to be updated often as we are constantly changing versions of these docs, ie client contact lists, etc.
- be idiot proof- i am NOT a coder. I do NOT know macs well.
- be usable by iphone, i pad, and to have an android counterpart.

We have a website with some of the documents already on it, but I don't know about how to host this app without setting it up with itunes, which we DO NOT want. We're currently using a google cloud that no one likes, so hopefully this will be a reasonable alternative. I would LOVE some help/insight/direction. I saw another thread pointing me to the Stanford U lecture series, which I will probably be checking out. But before I watch 50 lectures, it would be nice to know if the end result I NEED will even be possible. Thanks in advance!

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
So, you want to write a cloud document app similar to what DropBox does? Should be possible. DropBox and several other cloud storage sites/serivces support sharing and multiple user access. Box.net and SugarSync two others that come to mind.

thewitt

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Since you have no software development experience, you don't want to develop an app...