What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

new to iPad

ren41

iPF Noob
Reaction score
hello everyone - what a great forum! I am new to the iPad (32gb 3G white - still no sign of any black 32gb 3gs appearing in the UK, does it really matter?) and I have been amazed by just how enamoured - after 2 days of ownership - I am with it. I need more battery life!

I am a technofan anyway, a designer and ex-programmer. I've had an HTC Desire HD since they came out and I have been mostly very impressed (esp by comparison with the Blackberry Storm I had previously :) ) so I might well have gone down the Android route for a tablet, had it not been for the fantastic painting and other development apps which are available on the iPad and don't look to be going to appear on the Android platform. Oh, and a number of problems with the Android implementation of Exchange ActiveSynch.

Otherwise, so far I'm not so impressed with the apps I've found on the App Store. So much of what I've read has focused on the lack of quality on Android market but there seems to be plenty of rubbish on the App Store too, all presumably sanctioned by Apple and generally more expensive too. I do appreciate that there are far more apps on the App Store (and yes, a distinct lack of Android tablet apps did also influence my decision!) but it seems quite hard to find a good selection, no matter what your criteria. I have tried looking at lots of 'best apps' lists but they just prove that everyone likes something different, and in general they're certainly very random selections! Maybe I've been looking at the wrong websites?

Anyway, I look forward to learning lots on the forum!

ren

ipfuser55

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Welcome