1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

New to iPad

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Tweetyfan, Apr 15, 2011.

  1. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, have my new iPad and some questions:
    There is a thread about an update, where do you get the update if there is one available? Can you download it to iTunes?

    The app, Maps that came preinstalled, is showing me in a different area than I am in. I read about recalibrating it but the button for that does not come up and I can't find it. Does anyone know how to reset it as other apps use my geo location.

    Thanks for all you help.
  2. iFrog
    Offline

    iFrog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina - US
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Connect the iPad to the computer and when iTunes come up it will ask you if you want to update the iPad. Assuming that you had not previously updated already.

    stick2e - Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  3. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you.

    I still need help with the map issue.

    Also, someone said if you hit the home key twice fast and get the apps to jiggle and hit the little x it closes the app.
    I have deleted apps after making them jiggle but not by pressing home twice first, is this correct info? I don't want to accidentally delete an app when trying to close an app.
  4. iFrog
    Offline

    iFrog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina - US
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    To close the apps

    Double click the home button, a small panel will open at the bottom. Click/long press on one of the apps with in that panel, then they will jiggle and you can safely click the - to close the apps.

    stick2e - Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  5. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    A couple of questions.

    What version of iOS do you have? You need at least version 4.2 of the operating system for the 'double tap' to the Home key to work - earlier versions of iOS were not multi-tasking and the double-tap technique brings up the multi-task bar, so you won't see that with earlier versions of the operating system.

    Do you have a WiFi-only or a WiFi and 3G version of the iPad?

    The WiFi-only version does not have GPS (satellite navigation) capability, so the Maps app will not work properly. It can retrieve limited navigational information if it's next to a WiFi basestation that's had its coordinates entered into a database. So if you're, say, at home using your WiFi router you'd need to register the coordinates of that to get the map to work correctly. Let us know and I can send you a link and instructions of how to do this

    Tim
  6. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have version 4.3.1 and have the wifi only model and using my wifi router at home.

    Thank you for any help with this. I am really trying to learn apple stuff especially iPad since I have only ever used a pc and have limited knowledge of computers.
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    If you have a WiFi only iPad you'll need to register the location of your WiFi basestation to get the Maps app to work.

    Go to

    Skyhook: How It Works > Submit Wi-Fi AP

    and complete the details. It takes a while for the registration procedure to work its way through the system, but eventually your iPad will be able to pick up its location and the Maps app will display it correctly. From then on Maps will only work correctly if it's in touch with WiFi(s) that have registered so, if you're out in a rural area with your iPad and there's no WiFi around, the Maps app will be unable to determine its position.

    Don't hesitate to get back again with any further problems or questions you might have. We're all friendly people here!!

    Tim
  8. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    @Tim

    Apple uses it's own location service by now. They didn't seem to like the involvement of Google in Skyhook. But I am not sure, how one would go about adding a Wifi location to Apple's location service.

    http://techcrunch.com/2010/07/29/apple-location/
  9. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tim,
    Do I do this on the computer or the iPad?
  10. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    Thanks for the heads-up on that - much appreciated.

    Tim
  11. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tim
    Where to I find the mac address they are asking for? Is it the wifi address in
    settings/general/about/wi-fi address

    I have a pc computer not a mac, does that make a difference?

    Thanks for all your help
  12. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I guess after reading that article, Skyhook will not work so no need for the mac address. Appreciate all your help Tim and DontunderstandmyiPad
  13. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    The above linked method is not necessary, as Apple doesn't use Skyhook anymore for the location determination.

    Edit: Exactly.
  14. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    'Settings', 'General', 'About', 'WiFi Address'.

    OK - two things.

    (1) The last poster has suggested that Apple have changed their location database and no longer use Skyhook - so what I've suggested may not work - though I have had another member who recently registered with Skyhook and it worked just fine - but just be aware I could be wrong :(

    (2) This MAC that they are referring to is not MAC as in PC/Mac - it's the low-level computer address that your iPad has. It stands for Media Access Control.

    Anyway, give it a go and let us know what happens. When the last member did this, it took a while for their location to work its way through the system and, if the last poster is correct (and he usually is!!!) it might not work anyway.

    Tim
  15. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The crazy thing is that Mobile Me has my correct location but not Maps. Realized that when reading comments about the article idontunderstandmyipad sent. Oh well, it is not that important, just would be nice to have the correct address come up when I use the app.
  16. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can't try it if I don't know where the address is they want. Is it in settings on my iPad?
  17. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    'Settings', 'General', 'About', 'WiFi Address'.

    Tim
  18. Tweetyfan
    Offline

    Tweetyfan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    OK, entered the info, we will see if it works or not. I will let you know. They do say it could take up to a few weeks to work. But if I notice a difference I will definitely let you know.

    Thanks again both of you.
  19. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,935
    Thanks Received:
    1,806
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,912 / 1
    I don't know, of course, but I have a sneaking suspicion that if a friend with an iPhone were to visit, and happen to use their Map application while there, it might eventually find it's way to the database. No telling how long that would take though.

    The License Agreement sort of hint at this, by seeking to assure people that the location data Apple collects is anonymized (or something to that effect).

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad clicks with pressing keys