What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to iPad, new mini setup questions

LasJayhawk

iPF Noob
Reaction score
OK, I'm new to iPads and have some setup questions/ what is the best way to do what I want to do.

I told setup no to iCloud, and went through the rest and am up and running. So the first question is do I need iCloud for what I want to do?

I want to use the Beechcraft app to access our aircraft manuals from their app. I also want to push my PDF's for my 65 Pontiacs manuals and my antique radio information (on my PC). So do I install the Beechcraft app from the app store (yes) and then how do I push the PDF's for the cars and radios to the iPad? Do I put iTunes on the PC and use it to sync the data, knowing that my information is secure on the PC and its backups? Do I have a use for iCloud with what I want to do?

I'm sure this is simple to the n'th degree (most things Apple are, do the obvious and it works out), but it seems like a good idea to ask first before jumping in. :)

skimonkey

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
To place your PDFs from your computer to your iPad, there are a few ways I have done it.

Sometimes I will email the PDF to myself and then save it to iBooks.

Or, you can use apps such as Dropbox which is installed on your computer and your iPad. On your computer, you can slide your files to Dropbox. Then, once you turn on your ipad and it connects to your wifi--your Dropbox app will update and sync your files. It will then show up on your iPad in that app.

I am sure others will have other ideas to give you, but this is a start.