What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New member from Oz

eN0ch

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
www.fullofgraceandtruth.net
Hi all,

I'm a longtime mac nut from downunder, and simply had to get one of these beauties! Finally convinced my wife, and am in my first week.

I'm not a multimedia freak, so probably won't be doing heaps with video, games, garageband, etc. Too old for that ;) .. although my Gen-Y kids tell me I'm a "closet hipster". But anyway, I do see myself using the iPad 2 (wifi 32GB) a heap for reading, writing and notetaking.

As a Christian pastor I'll also be using it for bible study, teaching, preaching etc. (Just done my first Sunday with it, and it was great :D ... Used a PDF in iBooks for my speaker notes, and Voice Memos app for background recording. All good, but ... (see below))

I have a mid-2007 macbook and an iPhone 4 to sync with.

I'll search and post elsewhere on the forum about some specific issues, but might just flag them here briefly in case anyone has a comment:
  1. Seems a shame that Apple haven't included the iPhone built-in Voice Memos app on the ipad. It's been great for recording my talks (for my podcast). The 3rd party "Voice Memos for iPad" app is a worthy substitute, but not as smooth workflow-wise (a bit more complex syncing to the mac). Hoping that might be addressed in future development.
  2. I was hoping to use Pages for my speaking notes. It possibly could work, but definite downside with page turning whilst speaking. Could do with page flip functionality a la iBooks. Hope that might be added too. That would also be better for workflow as no need to export to PDF.