New iPad2 but no FaceTime?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Lennyp, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. Lennyp

    Lennyp
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi at the risk of sounding like a complete idiot I've just purchased an iPad2 & luv it however I can't finid the FaceTime icon anywhere? I've also upgraded to IOS 4.3.2 and it's still nowhere to be found. Any ideas where I've screwed up? Thanks
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Restart the iPad. Press *and hold* the Power button. After a couple of seconds a slider control will appear asking you to confirm that you really want to switch the iPad off (this is all you’ll be doing). Slide the control to accept. A rotating white ‘bezel’ will appear in the iPad screen as the iPad powers down (it takes a few seconds, just like it would if you were shutting down your PC). When the screen of the iPad has gone completely blank, press *and hold* the Power button for a couple of seconds until the white Apple logo appears and the iPad starts to power up. This takes several seconds, so be patient. During the power up the automatic screen orientation function is disabled, so don’t panic. A few seconds before the power up is complete, the iPad plays a little ‘jingle’ and then you’re back to the Home screen. Restart the iPad’s app and see if the problem persists. Apple (and Forum members) recommend that you power down your iPad at least once a week, just as you might regularly completely switch off your PC. The normal procedure of just briefly pressing the Power button of the iPad merely puts it to ‘sleep’. Most Forum members have found this cures a whole bunch of unexplained problems and are an easy first step to resolving most anything that happens on the iPad.

    Tim
    Scotland
     
  3. Lennyp

    Lennyp
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Tim for the prompt response. Did a power down as you suggested but everything is exactly the same. FYI I'm using a 64GB WiFi iPad2 if that helps. thanks Len
     
  4. j0yful

    j0yful
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Please check on your settings, you may have accidentally turned it off.
     
  5. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Agreed.

    Go to Settings->General->Restrictions and make sure, that FaceTime is on

    Btw. j0yful, how is your computer shutting down?
     
  6. Lennyp

    Lennyp
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks.... There's no FaceTime option on the left hand side menu bar in settings which leads me to believe it's not installed. Any ideas? Thanks again
     
  7. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Yes, FaceTime doesn't appear in Settings, if you don't enable if from the restrictions first.

    FaceTime is 100% installed on every iPad 2. It is impossible to not have it.
     
  8. Lennyp

    Lennyp
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just gone into restrictions and still no FaceTime there either. Hmmm confused...thanks
     
  9. Lennyp

    Lennyp
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Looks like there might be a regional restriction here in the UAE...just found this article (Skype is blocked here as well)...Thanks again Len

    http://www.9to5mac.com/29731/regional-restrictions-may-reference-facetime-on-ipad/
     
  10. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Ok, that is something I didn't know yet.

    The question is, how does the iPad determine that you are in the UAE.

    If it is just a .plist setting blocking FaceTime, it should be editable via ibackupbot.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
getting facetime icon on a uae ipad
,
how to down load facetime in ipad uae
,
ipad no facetime
,
ipad purchased in uae will not support facetime
,
ipad with no facetime
,
no facetime icon on ipad
,
no facetime on ipad
,

no facetime on ipad2

,
why face time not in new ipad in dubai
,
why is there no facetime on my ipad