1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

new iPad user needing help please

Discussion in 'iPad 1 Forum' started by bonnjer, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. bonnjer
    Offline

    bonnjer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm brand new here, so allow me to explain the situation...

    My wife bought an iPad (iPad 16 gb) for me for Christmas (yay, finally got one!). It is a used one, but seems to be in top notch shape, no scratches, dings, etc. It looks to be jailbroken, as Cydia is installed on it. It has iOS 5.1.1. I have not connected it to my computer yet, but I'd like to upgrade to the latest iOS and sync it to my computer. I'm not really all that interested in it be jailbroken, either.

    It also has wi-fi and 3g capability. What do I need to do to be able to use 3g?

    Thanks for the help on this. Looking forward to learning some things in what looks to be a great iPad forum!

    Jeremy
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2012
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,296
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 0
    You did not say what generation of iPad you have. If its the iPad1, then iOS 5.1.1 is as high as it can go. For the iPad2 and higher, you can upgrade it to iOS 6.0.1.

    Regardless, you can easily put a stock iOS on the iPad (and yes, it will remove the jail break). To do: connect the iPad to your iTunes. If your not prompted, find the "Restore" button. This will cause iTunes to put a fresh iOS on it. After a couple of [prompted] inputs from you, you will have a new-like iPad ready to go (and synced with your iTunes). Again, it won't be jail broken any longer, but it will have the most current iOS it can run on it.

    To use the 3G, you will have to sign up for a data plan with a carrier. Depending on which iPad you have (and if you are in the States) - you'll have an iPad that is for Verizon or AT&T.

    Regardless, to initiate the 3G, go to your Settings app (the gear icon). At the top (-ish) of the left column will be a line titled "Cellular Data." Click on that line and then follow the prompts to open an account and pay for some data.

    Congrats on your new iPad. Have fun!

    Marilyn
  3. zstairlessone
    Offline

    zstairlessone iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,052
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +437 / 0
    Check that it does indeed still have the sim card in it.
  4. bonnjer
    Offline

    bonnjer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Looking in the Settings, About section: I see Carrier ATT 12.0. It shows me a serial number, cellular data number. Does that indicate the sim card is still in it?
  5. zstairlessone
    Offline

    zstairlessone iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,052
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +437 / 0
    I think so, never activated mine. The card is located, from the back, at the top of the right side and has a small hole that you can use a paper clip in to open the holder.

    For some reason, no matter what I do, the second pic is coming out upside down :(

    Attached Files:

  6. bonnjer
    Offline

    bonnjer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, I have confirmed that there is a SIM card in the iPad.

Share This Page