New i pad user..need some help

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by billanis, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. billanis

    billanis
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have just bought an iPad 2and am making progress,but a bit slow.,so I hope that this forum is the place to get help.
    From time to time a small arrow comes up on the screen saying "copy". What is this and what do I use it for.? I know that this is a pretty elementary question but we all have to start somewhere!!
     
  2. chalis

    chalis
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    mmh.. me think
     
  3. Semel

    Semel
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    10
    This happens normally while doing what?
     
  4. billanis

    billanis
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When touching some bits of the screen....
     
  5. billanis

    billanis
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there a reply button on this forum without using the (quote) thing?
     
  6. Semel

    Semel
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Top right corner,the arrow.
     
  7. billanis

    billanis
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got it! Thanks
     
  8. billanis

    billanis
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    'Any ideas about the "copy"button which keeps appearing?
     
  9. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    444
    The copy popup is for copying and pasting type. If you accidentally toggle it on, just touch somewhere onscreen to toogle it off. If it keeps popping up accidentally, it's because you're touching the screen when you shouldn't be. You need to hold your iPad by its frame and the bezel (the black or white edge where type doesn't appear). You're not meant to hold or randomly touch a touchscreen, because touch is how it's operated. When you touch the screen, you're telling the iPad to perform an action. In cases when your finger(s) rest on the screen, you're telling it to copy, and it's working as designed.
     
    #9 Kaykaykay, Aug 12, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  10. billanis

    billanis
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I reckoned that was what it is for ..thanks ...so I press to copy,but how then do I paste.? I am used to doing this on a pc, but have got a bit lost on the iPad.
     

Share This Page