New i pad user..need some help

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by billanis, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. billanis
    Offline

    billanis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have just bought an iPad 2and am making progress,but a bit slow.,so I hope that this forum is the place to get help.
    From time to time a small arrow comes up on the screen saying "copy". What is this and what do I use it for.? I know that this is a pretty elementary question but we all have to start somewhere!!
  2. chalis
    Offline

    chalis iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    mmh.. me think
  3. Semel
    Offline

    Semel iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    This happens normally while doing what?
  4. billanis
    Offline

    billanis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When touching some bits of the screen....
  5. billanis
    Offline

    billanis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is there a reply button on this forum without using the (quote) thing?
  6. Semel
    Offline

    Semel iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Top right corner,the arrow.
  7. billanis
    Offline

    billanis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Got it! Thanks
  8. billanis
    Offline

    billanis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    'Any ideas about the "copy"button which keeps appearing?
  9. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    The copy popup is for copying and pasting type. If you accidentally toggle it on, just touch somewhere onscreen to toogle it off. If it keeps popping up accidentally, it's because you're touching the screen when you shouldn't be. You need to hold your iPad by its frame and the bezel (the black or white edge where type doesn't appear). You're not meant to hold or randomly touch a touchscreen, because touch is how it's operated. When you touch the screen, you're telling the iPad to perform an action. In cases when your finger(s) rest on the screen, you're telling it to copy, and it's working as designed.
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  10. billanis
    Offline

    billanis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I reckoned that was what it is for ..thanks ...so I press to copy,but how then do I paste.? I am used to doing this on a pc, but have got a bit lost on the iPad.
  11. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    To paste, start an email, document or note, then press your finger on the screen and you'll get a paste popup option. You can even paste on this forum, in a thread or post.
  12. billanis
    Offline

    billanis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok...eventually managed to crack it. Easy when you know how!! Thanks

Share This Page