1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Networking and WiFi Question

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by mslammers, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. mslammers
    Offline

    mslammers iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beavercreek, Ohio (Dayton PO
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a desktop [iTunes installed, waiting for iPad, Fri] with no WiFi. DSL connection through modem/router. I also have a netbook that has WiFi and can also connect to my m/r through cable connection.

    Soooo.... my question is: If I connect my netbook to the m/r and turn on WiFi, can I use the netbook as a hotspot in my house? Connect to the DSL through the netbook WiFi?

    I am not sure how all these things would see/connect.

    I don't have any other WiFi device to have it pretend to be the iPad or I would try it rather than ask. :D
  2. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    No. You need to buy a wireless router which is something that transmits a WiFi signal. Your netbook is meant to receive WiFi signals.
  3. CITSFixed
    Offline

    CITSFixed iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    actually you can setup internet connection sharing (or something like that) on the laptop and you can connect through it.
  4. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Can you? Yes
    Should you? No

    it can be done how you want with the actian as a hotspot via software or by enable internet connection sharing. But this is not a verry reliable way to share the internet and can be complicated if you dont know what to do.

    The best option would be to just buy a wirelss router to replace your current router. They have come way down in price and you can get one now for under $30
  5. dale600rr
    Offline

    dale600rr iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Actually, I would say that you only need a wireless Access Point (not a router) since the router functionality is already built into your cable modem / router. These are usually fairly cheap and I'm sure you'll have no problem finding one at your local computer store.

    You didn't say how many ethernet ports your cable modem has, if it only has one or has none free then make sure that you get a wireless AP with 2 or more ports, so that the AP connects into the cable modem and you can plug something else into the AP. Again, I'm sure your local computer store will be able to assist you.

    Cheers
    Dale
  6. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    The majority of all access points only come with one ethernet port because thats all an AP requires. Since he is using a wired pc as well its better to get a wireless router.

    Wireless routers on the have built in switch's with at least 4 ports for connecting multiple wired devices. They also ad a layer of security with their built in firewall capabilities.
  7. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Well then I stand correct on being able to use your laptop to connect, but I did want to add that I bought a D-Link wireless N router from BestBuy for $20! It was a mail order only deal so I had to add a couple of bucks for shipping but it was still less than $30.

    Our house sits roughly in the middle of a 3 acre piece of property and I can stick my iPod Touch in my pocket and listen to streaming audio anywhere I go without cutting out. It sure helps the monotony of cutting all what grass!
  8. mslammers
    Offline

    mslammers iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beavercreek, Ohio (Dayton PO
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I got a new wireless router/DSL modem with 4 ethernet ports. Tested it with my WiFi netbook and it works fine. Firewall, too. Matches capability of my previous w/r.
    Thanks for the advice and knowledge. I suspected my idea would not be really good.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
arris dg860
,
arris dg860 apple tv issues
,
arris dg860 clave taringa
,
arris dg860 enable wifi
,
arris dg860 home sharing
,

arris dg860 no wifi

,
arris dg860 no wifi?
,
arris dg860 not turning on wireless connection
,

arris dg860 wifi

,

arris dg860 wifi not working

,

arris dg860 wifi problems

,

arris dg860 wifi wont turn on

,

arris dg860 wireless not working

,
arris dg860 wont connect wifi
,
arris router dg860 wireless iphone
,
connecting the i pad to a dg860 arris router
,
dg860 default password not working
,
dg860 wireless not working
,
does a dg860 wifi
,
wireless not working on dg860