NC Google weather

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Gzoladz, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hi, there is a new tweak on cydia to put the weather on nc. It works only on the ipad.

    I am trying it but I get an "unknown error occurred on the nc where the weather should appear.

    Has anybody got this to work?

    Thanks,
    G
  2. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Anyone?
  3. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,591
    Thanks Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,012 / 0
    Well, I don't use a tweak like that on my iPad, so I didn't answer.

    Do you have the specific name of the tweak that's not working for you? Maybe that'll help...

    Marilyn
  4. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hi Marilyn, in is ncgooglewether, exactly like that. It is available in the modmyi repo.

    It looks very straighforward, not sure what the issue may be.
  5. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,591
    Thanks Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,012 / 0
    Hmmmm. I went ahead and installed it and It worked straight off for me. I blanked out my zip code (nothing personal :)) but I was able to enter my zip code and enable the Fahrenheit switch. Here's what it shows for me:

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1345061644.877013.jpg

    So. Rather than me remembering what the first-time-to-run popup said, here's a screenshot:

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1345061693.761283.jpg

    I went to the third page in the NC widget, right in the Notification Center, per the directions. The iPad froze for a second after I hit "return" after entering the zip code but hitting the Sleep button off, then on, fixed that. Sliding the switch for Fahrenheit vs Celsius worked right away.

    So, all I can recommend is going to the file location mentioned in that popup and seeing if you can sort it that way. Or, maybe uninstall it reinstall it? Because I can't duplicated your issue. Sorry.

    Marilyn
  6. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Thanks. Yes I had done exactly the same but no luck.

    There must be some sort of conflict with another tweak.

    Thanks anyway I will keep investgating.
  7. GoPackGo
    Offline

    GoPackGo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    960
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    What tweak(s) did you use to get your notifications to fill up a whole portion of the screen on the side like that..?
  8. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,591
    Thanks Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,012 / 0
    There are two tweaks that do this: MountainLionCenter for iPad (free) and MountainCenter ($2.99). I'm using the free one because I find it works better for me (for whatever reason, MountainCenter was buggy). As they do the same thing (in my opinion) - may I suggest you go with the free one... :)

    Then, it'll be the same as if it was the center of the iPad. Just know that some of the Notification Center tweaks don't work well on the iPad. They are designed for the iPhone and so sometimes the layout is a bit wonky, regardless of whether you have the center dropdown or the side.

    Anyway. Have fun!

    Marilyn
  9. GoPackGo
    Offline

    GoPackGo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    960
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Thanks! I'm going to try the free version and see what happens!

    Edit: Love it!!
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  10. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Ok, trying to repair this tweak I messed up my jb...had to restore and reinstall everything but now the tweak works.
  11. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,591
    Thanks Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,012 / 0
    Well ... yay? :)

    Sorry to hear you had to go all the way back to the beginning, but glad to hear you got it sorted. Thanks for telling us the update.

    Marilyn
  12. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    To be honest, it comes and goes. I love the tweak but it still a bit buggy.

    Still, so far the best alternative to weather on nc.
  13. GoPackGo
    Offline

    GoPackGo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    960
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Yeah I have to set the zip code a lot, but I do like it. I prefer Forecast for the iPhone though.
  14. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    By the way...the tweak that was causing issues to ncgoogleweather is display out.
  15. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Now the tweak stopped working again...even without display out...not good.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

nc google weather

,

nc google weather widget

,
nc weather widget ipad
,

ncgoogleweather

,
weather widget ipad cydia