My iPad 3G works with Malaysian telco!

Discussion in 'International iPad Users' started by xenon, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi all, glad and happy to share that my iPad 3G works with all Malaysian Network operator, im running my DiGi broadband mini sim (modified to micro sim, of coz) n my 3G signal is stronger on the iPad compared to on my iPhone 3GS.. Haha.. Any malaysian 3G user in here want to share?

    (malaysian who wants iPad please contact me, tq)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 14, 2010
  2. hakunamatata

    hakunamatata iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i have a 3G ipad and just got a micro-sim from Maxis this morning...

    but then until now, the line is not activated yet...

    is there any problem if i use this ipad that was a US set with a local telco?
     
  3. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No problem bro, i think ur account has not been activated yet, all ipads 3g are officially unlocked, u can use on any network worldwide..just wait for a while more before calling maxis..
     
  4. kenz_q

    kenz_q iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    boardband with data?

    hi Xinon i read your post about boardband sim cut out(micro sim)use in ipad...
    is that only cut out sim to micro sim size than do a setting in ipad can use direct???
    i have a old plan broadband unlimited from(M.network),that day i when to(M.center) try to do replace micro sim,but the girl told me,must terminate my old unlimit plan than sign a new limited plan for get micro sim..
    than i ask the girl...
    can i only do replace micro sim without sign new plan?
    than she say no use for do replacement micro sim,cause boardband network not suit for ipad,must sign a new plan for ipad...
    i feeling(M.network)are cheating user to sign new plan so i wont sign it,cause my friends told me,actually boardband from(M,D,C or U network) are using data network for boardband device....
    is this imformation from my friend are true???
    thank for sharing....
     
  5. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi there, you know what? My sim card that i cut into micro sim to be in my iPad is a sim card from my data only broadband, its the same bro, dun believe that ignorant lady at the counter, sometimes these ppl are just some pretty face without technical n some IT knowledge.. U can just cut ur broadband simcard, fit in into ur iPad, enter APn settings to unet.. n u r on ur way surfing and downloading thru ur iPad.. please contact me direct if u need any help..
    Cheers..
     
  6. Deanweijie

    Deanweijie iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Johor
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is it true? That day i just go to machine and ask the saleperson, he said that its work in the begining. But after a few days, the broadband card insert to the ipad will not works anymore. Please kindly advise. I will have my ipad in august, i want to find out more in this case.
     
  7. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Haha, what a lame statement the machines guy gave u, ipad is made officially unlocked, apple intention is to let the ipad be used on any network, that is y u can buy it at apple or it reseller, unlike iphones that is only sold by a telco..

    I dun noe y e machines guy told u that, but im pretty sure so that everybody waits for the malaysian set and buys it, like me, i have already enjoyed my ipad, no need to find a wifi spot, in fact from my ipad i can transform it became a hotspot n my macbook can get wifi signal to browse or download via my ipad 3g connection..

    U getting ur ipad in august? Why so late bro? I think by that time malaysia set shud be available already, and maybe im already on a different toy, (iphone 4) perhaps.. Hehe,,
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2010
  8. kenz_q

    kenz_q iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thanks bro....finally i done to cut my BROADBAND SIM to MICRO SIM size and put it in my ipad....my ipad is dance pretty now...
     
  9. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Enjoy bro..
     
  10. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    A snapshot of my iPad at work..
    [​IMG]
    :)
     
  11. Deanweijie

    Deanweijie iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Johor
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Izzit true? If the place don't have 3G, will it still available to use? Or will be down and cant use for that time? Pls advice. My friend tell me that his friend using broadband too, but when he goes to a place that don't have 3G line, its down and cant use it. Izzit true? can i have your telephone number bro. Thanks ya xenon bro.
     
  12. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Bro, same like phone la bro, if no 3g it will go to EDGE, if that area no data coverage, only voice than obviously the broadband fgot lime but no data bro.. And make sure for digi u rnter proper apn.. Digi uses 3gdgnet, maxis im not sure, i think maxisbb or something like that..
     
  13. Deanweijie

    Deanweijie iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Johor
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I will use maxis broadband for this. After i plugged in, do i need to do any setting?
     
  14. scottbluth

    scottbluth iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    my opinion

    Hi fellow iPad users!
    I bought an ipad 3G few months ago and I think this capability is actually not practical and costly.After doing some calculations,owning an ipad 3G with cellular subscription is actually a waste so I sold it to someone who appreciates it more than me.Moreover,after discovering the critical cons of iPad 3G..it got me to get the wi-fi only instead.Reasons are:-

    -LOUSY 3G HARDWARE just like the iPhone
    Compare the 3G signal strength in a MIFI device with iPad 3G.You'll be amazed that the MIFI signal bar is 5 while the iPad has only 3 bars. (DIGI)

    -PACKAGE PLAN
    This cost you another set of bill.If you're already using an iPhone,you could just jailbreak your iPhone for 'MyWi' application at a single cost of 9.99USD which enables you to use the program FOREVER,rather than paying 2 bills of monthly data usage.

    'MyWi' application makes your iPhone a pocket wi-fi router for those who don't know.

    -SECURITY WEAKNESS
    With the recent AT&T security breach issue,It's affirmative..it's not the service provider.It's the weak iPad security protocol encrypted in the device.iOS 4 for iPad (August) might troubleshoot this matter.

    -NO WATCHING HD VIDEOS ON YOUTUBE
    That's right,you can't watch HD formatted video or video files that is over 40MB over the internet with your 3G reception.
    When you're using MyWi or MIFI,although it uses 3G connectivity,your iPad believes it to be a wifi connection and watching HD videos would not be a problem.

    Cydia has a lot of tweeks that rectifies this matter but who would be foolish enough to jailbreak an iPad? and since it's still new and expensive,I would bet that wise users won't jailbreak their iPad yet.



    That's about that I could point out.Although it's not much,but all of these are critical.For those who plan to get an iPad.I would advice you to get the Wi-Fi only iPad.Thanks.
     
  15. xenon

    xenon iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I think u never tried a 3g ipad, who says u cant watch HD video on you tube? Just off the celular mode, n the ipad will only use wifi n automatically choose hd streaming videos..

    N please, u dun even know that the signals are more compared to an iphone, i got both ipads, my first wss a wifi 32gb, i donated it to my dad, now im no longer looking a wifi spot like a moron as i just can use my data anywhere i am.. Huhu..
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
3g maxis broadband apn setting on ipad
,
apn digi malaysia ipad
,
can digi 3g use in international
,
digi apn for ipad
,

digi apn setting for ipad

,
digi ipad setting
,
ipad maxis apn
,
ipad maxis apn setting
,
maxis apn for ipad
,

maxis apn setting for ipad